A Year with Mr Arrogant by ALoveForRomance

A Year With Mr Arrogant quote

 Wattpad book

This book is about a girl named Abrielle who, like any other cliché romance, gets her books knocked down by an arrogant guy. Angered, she gets him to pick them up, which he begrudgingly does. His father sees this and then decides she’s the perfect girl for him.

Now, the premise already sounds extremely unrealistic and cliché, but I was just in one of those moods.

I’d like to say that I enjoyed this book. I mean, it is only twenty chapters or so. I flew through it. The chapters were quite short. But, although I liked the main story line, I had a lot of problems with it.

like first: Abrielle goes into her kitchen, spots her parents with another couple and then gets told, she’s to marry their son. They want her to ‘straighten him out because they’re sick of his player ways’. Uh huh, marriage is the best thing to do.

And, wanting to make his life a living hell, she agrees.

Continuing on a chapter later or so, Abrielle is told she’s to move in with Ace, her new fiancé. Her parents are perfectly fine with this. Now, I don’t know about you, but there is not a chance i’d:

a) be allowed get married at seventeen to a stranger because his parents want to ‘fix him’.

or

b) Be allowed to move in with said stranger at seventeen

No, no. Her parents see no problem in this.

I think, for future relationships, this could actually be a problem.

“So, have you ever been in any serious relationships before?”

“Yeah, I was married at seventeen. I then got divorced a year later.”

“Oh.”

“Yeah, I made I deal with his family for money. In return I was supposed to keep him on a leash. You know, straighten him out a little.”

“Ah, yeah…”

It was quite badly paced too. One minute, they’re playing jokes on each other and the next, one’s confessing their undying love. I don’t think it’s that easy to go from hate to love in a matter of an hour or two.

There was quite a few mistakes here and there also. That included bad grammer, terrible expression and, as mentioned before, bad pacing. I was reading some of this book during school in a computers class with a friend beside me. We couldn’t help but laugh in a lot of moments trying to figure out what the author was trying to explain. I’m not trying to be rude, but there comes a point where you need to re-evaluate your writing if it’s not even understandable. I get it if it were a couple of times but not so frequent.

I’m going to be kind and give this book two stars.

At least it had a nice cover- that model guy that surfaced for most people when he appeared in Taylor Swift’s Blank Space. Oh, and also the Paco Robanne ad. I happen to like that ad. (Clicks.)

16 thoughts on “A Year with Mr Arrogant by ALoveForRomance

Leave a Reply

