Dare You to by Katie McGarry

Dare You to quote

Published: May 2013.

Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. “Dance with me, Beth.”

“No.” I whisper the reply. I hate him and I hate myself for wanting him to touch me again….

“I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….
___

This is the second book in a companion series. I really liked the first book, Pushing the Limits, but I think this one fell a little flat. I read the first book two years ago and still remembering liking both the storyline, characters and their relationships. I’ll say that the first book was a little cliché but I think this one was too cliché.
Beth’s from the wrong side of the tracks and Ryan’s the town’s golden boy. The rest of the storyline is quite expected. It’s a back and forth tug of war between the two until finally, everything is settled.

I’ll admit, I do love a good cliché romance once in a while but I only finished this one for the sake of finishing it. It dragged on a little too long for my liking and I found myself getting my friends to motivate me to finish it.

Beth’s character at first was rebellious and outspoken. I kind of liked that about her. It made her character more interesting and added depth. I understood why she was thee way she was. As the story further developed, I felt like her character got annoying. She whined, rebelled, said rude and hurtful things and in the end, I found myself disliking her character.

I was really disappointed in this book. I was hoping for the second book to be as good, if not, better than the first.
I didn’t really like Ryan as a character either. He followed Beth like a shadow sometimes. His parents relationship was strained and, in some situations, I understood his reasonings for listening to them. But, sometimes, it really aggravated me. He is seventeen or eighteen years old in this novel and does not disobey his parents once. I’m not saying he should be disrespectful to his parents, but when they challenge his dreams and dictate his future, I think he should listen to his own thoughts, not his parents’.

Only in the end did he finally think for himself and disobey them like he should have. It would have saved a hell of a lot of trees and my time for reading some other story. I am sorry to say that this book only deserves 2.5 maybe 3 stars. I’d really love to offer more.

2 thoughts on “Dare You to by Katie McGarry

Leave a Reply

