Shattered Rose by T.L. Gray

shattered rose quote

Published: April 2015.

“For any girl who has struggled to love herself.” –T.L. Gray

Avery Nichols knows how to wear the mask. Perfect student, perfect daughter and perfect friend. Nobody would ever guess that inside, Avery is a prisoner to her own self loathing.

Then she meets him…and everything changes.

Handsome, charming and self assured, Jake Matthew sweeps Avery off her feet in an effortless fashion. Avery knows that Jake is everything she needs and all she has ever wanted.

She would destroy herself to be loved by him…until he walks away.

Broken and lost, Avery meets Parker. His genuine, caring nature reaches past the mask and the shattered pieces her heart begin to slowly heal. But just when Avery starts to feel whole again, she realizes the impossible.

Jake never really left.

***

Wow, before I start can I just say that this is free on Amazon for kindle at the moment and thank god because I wouldn’t have come across it any other way.

This story was heart-wrenching, in the character, Avery’s darkest moments. It was so hard to fully grip the extent of her disorder. At moments throughout the book, I really felt that she was such a strong character but once she was sad about something, she took it out on herself. I really felt pained for her.

This synopsis had me intrigued from the moment I read it. The last line “Jake never really left” had me gripped. I was running through every possible way he could have gone but not really ‘left’. Funnily enough, the way he actually left never crossed my mind.

There were so many moments throughout the story where I was smiling. It may have been a cute scene with Avery and Jake or Parker, or Issy’s hilarious wit. There were also moments where I wanted to cry for her. It really upset me how much Avery really obsessed about the way she looked and how much she weighed.

What happened when she went to see Jake annoyed me beyond belief. I actually really liked their relationship and for him to hurt her so badly (even if I knew he was going to leave) just really and truly pissed me off.

Then Parker arrived into the story and I really did feel hope for Avery. There was an instant connection between the two once they started talking. To be completely honest, I thought Parker was going to turn out as some crazy stalker or something. At the beginning of each chapter, there’s the short prayer and I thought that it was Parker praying it and that in some way he already knew Avery, that’s why it began at the start of the novel. I soon realised that was not the case. He had the best intentions for his relationship with Avery, and I think that was a really good trait for him to have. It contrasted well against Jake’s push and pull nature. Parker was a constant, even if Avery found that hard to believe.

In the last chapter, everything was coming to a close, yet I still had no idea who I wanted her to end up with or who I thought she would end up with. Avery had such a strong reaction whenever she saw Jake, but he was also very inconstant, even when he was trying to get her back. She didn’t have the same reaction to Parker, but he was constant in her life and always there for her.

I am so glad this novel came into my ‘free kindle books’ search otherwise I would have been missing out on something great. I give this book a 4.5/5 stars. The loss of a half a star because of Jake’s horrible attitude. No faults for the author. A tremendous read.

I would also like to mention that this is a Christian read. I didn’t know that until I had finished it. I’d never read a Christian novel before and, I can now see why it’s a Christian read, although I didn’t notice while reading.

One thought on “Shattered Rose by T.L. Gray

Leave a Reply

