Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

Ten Tiny Breaths quote

Published: December 2012.

This book centres around a girl named Kasey Cleary who, one day, picks up her and her sister’s lives and moves them from Michigan to Miami, away from their overbearing aunt and paedophile uncle. (Can I call him that? No? Well, I’m going to do it anyway).

They move into this small little apartment- 1C beside a woman named Storm and her little daughter, Mia. On the opposite side, 1D, lives Trent. He’s tall, handsome and, unlike all of the other guys in Kasey’s life, she’s not immune to him.

I find it hard to review this book. I’m still on the fence about whether I really loved it or really didn’t like it. There were parts I enjoyed, parts I didn’t enjoy.

Kasey is sick and, as much as she tries to deny it, knows that it’s completely true. She is suffering from PTSD after a tragic car accident. She channels her anger and feelings into a kick bag and avoids getting close to people at all costs. Well, everyone except her sister, Livie. She doesn’t like her hands being touched and she has a hard time keeping her cold and harsh tone away when speaking.

Her sister instantly takes a liking to their next-door-neighbours, Storm and Mia, and keeps pushing Kasey to speak to them and be around them. Even like them. I liked that about Livie, she persevered. Out of the two, even though she was only fifteen, she acted like the older sister. When someone tried to shake Kasey’s hand, Livie swooped in to save her. I admired Livie.

Kasey was quite self-absorbed without meaning to be. Sure, she took Livie away when she needed so she could keep her safe, but they had both suffered a loss. Kasey didn’t seem to comprehend that it wasn’t only herself that was suffering.

There were two cars involved in the accident- Kasey’s family car and another car. In the other car, there were three college guys, only one survived. Even though they were drunk and responsible for the accident, Kasey failed to realise that the survivor from the other car was also suffering, having lost his two best friend, and the two other guys’ families.

Kasey and Trent’s relationship started off rather quickly. Their platonic relationship. They met in an early chapter and Kasey instantly took a liking to him. But she didn’t do anything about it. For the next while, things happened and Trent would always be there to swoop in and save her. It was a little odd, I’ll admit. He seemed to always be around to help. As much as Kasey tried to keep him away from her thoughts, he was always there for her and she found herself wanting more than just a friendship.

I don’t know how I feel about Trent. He was mysterious but not in that bad boy, swoon worthy way. He’d send Kasey mixed signals, pratically stalk her and sometimes he’d just dissapear. We never really learned much about him in this book either. Whether the author chooses or not, their character is always going to go through some character development. We didn’t know where he stood in the first place to see if he had grown or gotten better or worse until the near end.

Kasey and Storm’s friendship immediately began on the rocks. I’ll admit, Kasey was a b*tch. But, Storm continued to try and be friends with her. She’s helped her get a job, invited her over for dinner and even attempted to play match maker. She was another character to admire. Storm has a past of her own and, putting her own feelings aside, she told Kasey her story, hoping it would make her feel more comfortable around her. Slowly that worked.

There was this scene and, if anyone has read the book, they’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. It had me raging. Kasey thought she could fix the situation by doing something stupid and ended up making it worse. Yes, I’m talking about the gym scene. To anyone else going to read the book, you’ll know what I’m talking about when you get there.

It was nearing the end, a lot had happened. Something was coming and I knew exactly what. To be honest, I think it was a rather cliche plot twist. It was executed well though, I’ll give the author that.

The final chapter, I have to admit, I didn’t think it would turn around. I don’t think I wanted it to turn around either. Not that I liked what happened before but I was satisfied.

If you’re looking for a book to read about post traumatic stress disorder, this is not the one for you. This book is more of a romance, with a side of PTSD.

Kasey deals with a lot of issues and most of her methods are not very good. I think this book could be quite triggering because it shows what the illness can do to you. It also doesn’t really show how it can be dealt with or healed.

If you want an angsty romance then yes, you should pick this up. The romance was almost solid.

You can click here to go straight to the goodreads page.

If you liked it enough, you can check out the second book which is Livie’s story three years on. To be frank, I’m not sure I’m ready to see her grown up.

5 thoughts on “Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

Leave a Reply

