Top Author Tuesday: Caisey Quinn

So, today I’ve decided to start a new type of post on my blog. It’s called Top Author Tuesday. So, every Tuesday I’m going to be mentioning an author that I have read who I really think deserves a mention for whatever stated reason. The authors who will feature are mostly authors who either don’t have a lot of published works or are self-published or aren’t that well-known.

Top Author Tuesday

Each week I’ll include the author’s name (obviously); some of the books they’ve written- if they’ve fifty we’d be here all day; the books I’ve read by that author and my thoughts on said books; if I’ve read more than one I’ll tell you about my favourite and why; how I discovered them; why they’re featured; and a link to where you can find them.

My reasons for doing this is because I’d like to share with you some of the authors I enjoy without giving book reviews on all of them that I read. With that being said, there may still be reviews up on some of their books and if there is I will link them. I’d really like to give back to authors in some way because writing is really hard work (new post coming soon about that, keep your eyes peeled) and these authors don’t get enough recognition.

So, getting that intro over with, the first author to feature is Caisey Quinn.

All of her books follow a southern belle (isn’t that what they call them?) or a protagonist from a southern state of North America. They are also all New Adult, as far as I know (and as far as the covers show).

Some of her books include: The Kylie Ryans trilogy, Neon Dreams trilogy, Second Chance trilogy (possibly a series) and Hold me Still.

I only discovered Ms. Quinn three or so days ago. I was scrolling through Goodreads and one of my friends there had just written a review for her most recent, Leaving Amarillo, so I decided to check her out. I read the synopsis for a couple of her books and immediately needed to have them. So, I went onto Amazon and Falling for You, a prequel novella to Falling for Fate, was available for free. I’m going to be honest here, it wasn’t the most intriguing to me than all of her others but it was a) free and b) short. I was also, and still am, behind in my Goodreads 2016 reading challenge.

I read Falling for You and oh god, I loved it. It was something a little different from the college age, party central characters I was used to but I loved it. I ended up giving it four stars on Goodreads.

This book follow a twenty two year old woman named Fate who is just about to get married but, something happens and her plans change and she ends up meeting this guy called Dean. I can’t really say any more than that without ruining the prequel.

I was a hungry animal and needed more then. So, I went back onto Amazon, intent on finishing Fate and Dean’s story but saw that two of her books were also free in the store. And, I am a sucker for cheap deals.

I bought both of them and immediately began reading the first book in the Kylie Ryans trilogy, Girl with Guitar. This was even better than her previous book I read! I gave it five stars on Goodreads. I loved it so, so much. (Review to come on this book.)

gwg.png

This book follow the main girl Kylie Ryans as she moves from Oklahoma to Tennessee in hopes of making it big in the country music world. She ends up singing at an amateurs night in the bar she works at, impressing (and also kind of making a show of) an already big country music star- Trace Corbin and going on tour with him. Can I just say, in the beginning of this book, when moving from Oklahoma she takes a thirteen hour bus drive! There’s one state between Oklahoma and Tennessee. It only takes about five hours to drive from the southern-est point of Ireland to the northern-est! It’s crazy!

I then picked up Hold Me Still which included a prequel novella and sequel novella. Falling for You was only about ten chapters and the first novella for Hold Me StillLet You Leave– was twenty or so chapters! Basically it’s own book. Unsurprisingly, I really enjoyed this one also. Not as much as Girl with Guitar but still enough for four stars.

This book is about a girl named Layla who witnessed her parents being shot dead when she was thirteen. She’s recently returned to high school for her senior year and meets a guy named Landon there. He’s immediately enthralled by her but doesn’t understand how she’s an outcast in the whole school.

I don’t want to ruin the prequel but something happens in the end of it and then Hold Me Still takes place when they got to college the following Autumn- or Fall, I guess ‘cause they’re American.

Currently, I am reading Hold Me Still and then after I will read it’s sequel (I’m going to call it that because it basically is) Hold Us Close. (Full review of these books will be up when I finish them too.)

So, if you didn’t get it by now, I am in love with Caisey Quinn’s books! And, I’ll shout it from the rooftops. Just kidding. Sort of. Nope, not really, I would. I don’t know how many people would actually listen though. They’d think me insane. Not that people think I’m fully sane anyway but whatever.

The reasons why I think you should read her books are because:

> They are quick and easy to get through.

> There are so many quotable things throughout each of her novels. I’ve even colour coordinated my highlights on my kindle. I also found myself highlighting so many scenes or moments in these books I enjoyed.

> Her characters are also really life-like and all hold different relatable qualities. (That being said, there’s also things that do that I’d never do but that’s just me.)

>Her books aren’t regular, generic contemporary romances. Sure, there may be moments where it’s a little basic but aren’t all stories like that? The author has done something different with all of her books and all of her characters and I really loved them.

I really hope you listen what I have to say here and go check out her books because she’s really deserving of the attention. I have never previously heard anything about her before. But, maybe you have and I’m hoping you feel the same way about her books as I do.

You can click here to go straight to her website or here for her Goodreads page.

See ya next week!

 

One thought on “Top Author Tuesday: Caisey Quinn

Leave a Reply

