Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

Until Friday Night.jpg

Published:August 2015

This book centres around two main characters- Maggie and West. Each chapter alternates between the two. Maggie has just moved in with her Aunt Coralee, Uncle Boone and cousin, Brady. West happens to be Brady’s best friend. Maggie, throughout the story is struggling with demons from her past, leaving her to ignore her problems and become mute. West is struggling with his current demons, lying to his closest friends about the problems at home and keeping everything locked up. When the two meet, they are drawn to each other, Maggie wanting to help West and West needing someone who he can lean on and someone who’ll listen to him without judgement.

Abbi Glines, I have to say, is one of my favourite authors. I discovered her books in 2012, I think and have since been obsessed and wanting to read everything she’s written. (I still have yet to catch up on the Sea Breeze books.) Her books are addicting! The characters are always written so well and I find myself loving every one.

When I heard she had a new YA series, I was ecstatic. It’s been a while since I’ve read some Abbi Glines YA. It’s been a while since there’s been some. I’ll be honest, I forgot about this book and only then again remembered about it just before Christmas.

West and Maggie are both extremely flawed characters. West is dealing with his father’s illness by ignoring all of his problems. Near the beginning we find out he uses his girlfriend as an outlet to blow off some steam but really, he couldn’t care less about her. In the second chapter (I think), West and Maggie meet. West takes advantage of Maggie’s silent state because of his emotional distress. I’ll admit, I was a little annoyed he was using her but I guess you could say there was an explanation for it.

West, throughout the book, focuses his attention on Maggie, rather than Raleigh, his girlfriend. He quickly becomes attached to her, going to her every time he has a problem. He’s using her in an emotional way. But, while that is also happening, Maggie finds herself opening up to West and wanting to help him so he doesn’t have to go through the mental torment she did.

While I did enjoy the characters and their relationships together, I found this plot lacked originality. It was simply two tormented teenagers coming together to try and mend one another, all the while, falling in love. It’s not my favourite Abbi Glines.

I loved all of the secondary characters, especially the football players. I don’t know what that was but I really enjoyed reading about that group of friends.
I can’t wait to read the following book and to be completely honest, the main thing pushing me towards it is the characters. I want to see more of Brady, Gunner and all of the other guys. I’m itruigued to see how the following book will play out and I have a feeling I’ll like it a lot better than this one.

Nevertheless, I’ll continue reading Abbi Glines’ books because, as I’ve said before, she is one of my favourite authors and I gave this an above average (in my opinion) 3.5 stars.

 

4 thoughts on “Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

Leave a Reply

