Top Author Tuesday: Kelly Oram

Top Author Tuesday

This week’s Top Author Tuesday’s author is Kelly Oram.

I discovered her books about three years ago and I loved them. All of her books are both young adult and new adult.

Some of her books include: If We Were a Movie, the Supernaturals series, The Jamie Baker series, Serial Hottie and more.

The first book I actually picked up by her was the Avery Shaw Experiment and I couldn’t finish it. I’m not sure what it was but I didn’t like it whatsoever. Maybe it was the whole science aspect and I hate science.

The first (full) book I read by her is Serial Hottie.

This book follows a girl named Eleanor Westley. She is hockey obsessed and has never been the object of any guy’s attention. A new guy moves in across the road from her and he’s more than attracted to her. She’s a little sceptical. Especially when bodies of girls who look just like her keep showing up around town and Seth’s got a little more than good self defence skills. As Ellie gets closer to Seth, the more she’s convinced he’s the killer.

This book was actually really good. Throughout it I never knew whether to believe Seth was the killer or not. It really annoyed me that I couldn’t figure it out, but in a good way. Ellie was always questioning herself and Seth, intent on proving that he’s the killer and trying to ignore all of her feelings for him.

This book had a very good mix of thrilling, suspenseful drama and romance. I really loved it. It is a contemporary romance. Although I read it about three years ago, it’s always stuck in my mind. I definitely recommend this book. It’s my favourite of all her books that I’ve read.

I also read the first book in her Jamie Baker series, Being Jamie Baker.

This book follows a girl names Jamie who was involved in a freak accident and acquired superpowers because of this. Jamie is quite unstable with her powers and so, removes herself from the social ladder. But, one day, a chance encounter with Ryan, the school’s quarterback, leads her to literally kiss her anonymity goodbye.

I really liked this book too. I always planned on continuing the series but I never got around to it. There are currently three books out- Being Jamie Baker, Becoming Jamie Baker and Remember Jamie Baker. Remember Jamie Baker will be released June 2016.

This book is science fiction with a dash of romance.

The third book I read by her is Chameleon, the first book in Supernaturals.

This book follows a girl named Dani, who before had never even believed in the supernatural, until one day she discovered she was a part of that world. Happy Dani finally knows, Russ, Dani’s life long best friend, can finally come clean about also being a supernatural and can confess his undying love for her. Until, Dani is taken by a powerful council of supernaturals who believe she is the Chosen One destined to save them from extinction.

As if being kidnapped and expected to save the world isn’t bad enough, an ancient prophecy warns of the Chosen One’s dark nature: “Only the truest love will keep her an agent for good.” The council believes they know who this “true love” is and, unfortunately, that person isn’t Russ. The mysterious, powerful and devastatingly handsome Seer is the last person Dani wants in her life, but when she starts having visions of a horrific future, she has no one else to turn to for help.

I loved, loved, loved this book. I am sad to say it may not seem like it because I can barely remember anything about it and I never continued the series but it was so good! This series in an urban fantasy/paranormal. The other books in this trilogy/ possible series is Ungifted and Scion.

Another book I read by her is V is for Virgin.

When Val Jensen gets dumped for her decision to stay a virgin until marriage, the nasty breakup goes viral on YouTube, making her the latest internet sensation.

After days of ridicule from her peers, Val starts a school-wide campaign to rally support for her cause. She meant to make a statement, but she never dreamed the entire nation would get caught up in the controversy.

As if becoming nationally recognized as “Virgin Val” isn’t enough, Val’s already hectic life starts to spin wildly out of control when bad boy Kyle Hamilton, lead singer for the hit rock band Tralse, decides to take her abstinence as a personal challenge.

How can a girl stay true to herself when this year’s Sexiest Man Alive is doing everything in his power to win her over?

This synopsis is taken from Goodreads. And, while I was looking it up, I only just noticed the girl’s hair on the cover. The sequel to this is A for Abstinence.

Kelly Oram is an author I discovered on Amazon. Her books came up suggested.

I recommend these books if you’re looking for light, easy reads. If you’re looking for gritty, hormone-fuelled new adult, these are not the books for you. All of her books I gave 4-5 stars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

