Tag Thursday: Intimidating TBR

Intimidating TBR.jpg

This week’s tag is the Intimidating TBR tag. I’ve seen this around booktube and it seemed pretty cool so I decided I’d do one.

1. What book have you been unable to finish?

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle. I bought it when it first came out and picked it up  almost as quickly. Up until the last hundred and fifty pages or so. I had heard there was a plot twist and I thought I had it figured out. So, I didn’t find the book that interesting anymore. But now, I think the “plot twist” is something completely different and what I thought was the plot twist isn’t even a twist. I bought the second book, Inferno, so I plan on trying to re-read the first.

What book have you yet to read because…

2. You just haven’t had the time?

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I was with a friend when she bought it the week it was released. She loved it, gave it to me to borrow and I still have it in my room un-read. I wasn’t the biggest Simon and Baz fan during Fangirl so I think that’s also putting me off. The book itself is actually quite big also but the writing is kind of big too. I guess I just gotta be in the mood.

3. It’s a sequel?

This one was quite hard to answer but Frostbite by Richelle Mead. I read Vampire Academy over a year ago, maybe even two. I own the next two books in the series but haven’t gotten around to reading them. I really enjoyed the first book but I just haven’t been able to commit to the series.

4. It’s brand new?

I actually don’t have any new releases. I’ve been really good in not buying any books recently.

5. You read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

There are a lot of these. I’ll list of a couple.

  • Sarra Cannon. I read The Trouble with Goodbye and didn’t really enjoy it.
  • John Green. I read The Fault in Our Stars and really didn’t like it.
  • Chris Higgins. I read He’s After Me and absolutely hated it.

6. You’re just not in the mood for it?

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancy. It’s not that I don’t want to read it but I’m just never in the mood to. Sometimes I am in the mood for another genre other than romance but I’m still not in the mood for this book.

7. It’s humongous?

The Diviners by Libba Bray. Technically, I can’t really answer this book because I don’t own a copy. This book just sounds so interesting to me and I really want to read it but it’s just so big…

8. Because it’s a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

Tape by Steven Camden. I watched a booktuber talk about it and it sounded great- something I’d love. I saw it then when I was out and bought it (it was a hardback too). Thn, I saw quite a few bad/mediocre reviews and never read it. I’ve had it for at least three years (I think).

9. What is the most intimidating book on your TBR?

For this, I’m going to choose an emotionally intimidating book- Me before You by Jojo Moyes. I actually started it but had to put it down for whatever reason. I really liked it though and it’s got so many good reviews. I’ve read it’s really upsetting and I don’t know if I’m ready for that.

Hope you enjoyed this weeks Tag Thursday edition.

What is the most intimidating book on your TBR?

Leave a Reply

