May TBR

MayTBR.jpeg

Usually, I’m not one for posting TBRs. I can never stick to them. Or, I fail at reading anything. This month, I’ve got a couple of books that I actually want to get through so I was thinking maybe posting a TBR would mean committing to those books and motivating me to read them.

The first book for this month is one I am currently reading. That is: A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I am actually reading this book for school right now and will be finishing it up during May.

Born a generation apart and with very different ideas about love and family, Mariam and Laila are two women brought jarringly together by war, by loss and by fate. As they endure the ever escalating dangers around them—in their home as well as in the streets of Kabul—they come to form a bond that makes them both sisters and mother-daughter to each other, and that will ultimately alter the course not just of their own lives but of the next generation. With heart-wrenching power and suspense, Hosseini shows how a woman’s love for her family can move her to shocking and heroic acts of self-sacrifice, and that in the end it is love, or even the memory of love, that is often the key to survival.

The second book which I am also currently read is A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston. I bought this last year when I heard a booktuber talk about it. There’s only a handful of booktubers I’ve heard talk about it since. The reviews I’ve seen have only been average so my hopes aren’t raised very high. I have the purple, UK cover.

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister’s place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin’s court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time. But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

The third book that I plan on reading this month is a book picked for the Pop Sugar Reading Challenge that I’ve decided to take part in. TBR jars just don’t suit the kind of reader I am- I like to pick my books only before I read them- so I made a Pop Sugar TBR jar. Most boxes to tick are categories so I thought it would be a little easier for me.

The category this month is: A book under 150 pages

The book I have chosen for that category is: Bittersweet by Cathy Cassidy, the only book I own that is under 150 pages. This is a novella to The Chocolate Box Girls series. I used to read these books a couple of years ago when I first started reading. This is book 2.5 and was written for World Book Day. This series is also middle grade/tween.

This series begins with Cherry Costello and her moving in with the Tanberry daughters and their mother, her dad’s girlfriend. In this series, there’s a boy named Shay (you meet him in the first book).

*SPOILER of the first book in the series*

Shay, the boy with the cool blonde fringe and the blue guitar, the boy who smells of the ocean, is Cherry’s boyfriend. But it wasn’t always that way. Once, he was in love with Honey, Cherry’s older stepsister. Since their break-up, bitterness has twisted every word she’s said to him.

Now Honey needs help. Should Shay reach out to her – or is it safer to steer clear?

It’s only 85 pages so it should be pretty quick to read.

The last book on my TBR is Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness, volume 3 in a six-book set by Scott Lee O’Malley. I read volume 2 during April and I didn’t really like it as much as the first but I still enjoyed it. I also read Seconds by Brian Lee O’Malley too.

Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness (Scott Pilgrim, #3)[Info on the first book in the series: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life]

Scott Pilgrim’s life is totally sweet. He’s 23 years old, he’s in a rockband, he’s “between jobs” and he’s dating a cute high school girl. Nothing could possibly go wrong, unless a seriously mind-blowing, dangerously fashionable, rollerblading delivery girl named Ramona Flowers starts cruising through his dreams and sailing by him at parties. Will Scott’s awesome life get turned upside-down? Will he have to face Ramona’s seven evil ex-boyfriends in battle? The short answer is yes. The long answer is Scott Pilgrim, Volume 1: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life.

They are the books I plan to get through this month. If I read all of these, it’d be great. I’m hoping to read even more but I’ve got upcoming exams and projects and stuff I have to do. So, we’ll see how it goes.

Have you read any of these books?

I’m especially interested in anyone’s thoughts on A Thousand Splendid Suns. (When I was typing this now, I mixed up the two titles and said A Thousand Splendid Nights, haha.) I only have about one hundred pages left, I think.

I plan on posting an in-depth review of it once I finish too because I’ve done so much work on it already in school that I’d like to share my thoughts with you.

Until next time,

Ciao

yeah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

