DNF Reviews

DNF reviews.png

So, I know a lot of people who don’t like giving up on a book, no matter how excruciating. And, they’re not even reading it for a review. They read a quarter of a book, disliking everything they’ve read so far, and still push through.

Most of the time, I’m like that myself. I hate marking a book as unfinished. It doesn’t happen very often but, when I mark a book as ‘DNF‘, I didn’t put it down because I didn’t like it. When I DNF a book, I haven’t read the book in quite sometime. I began reading it, slowly forming an opinion, when I put the book down to stop reading for any mundane reason, such as it was late and I was going to sleep, and never found myself wanting to pick the book back up again. I realised that I didn’t like it all that much, and had already wasted enough time on it so therefore decided to mark is a a DNF.

In some cases, there’s been books that I was enjoying and put them down. As time passed, I just never had any drive to pick up the book again, so, it was technically a DNF book. I don’t mark those as DNFs though.

Personally, I hate giving up on a book for two reasons:

  1. This is an author’s sweat and blood. They wrote it hoping people would like it.
  2. I’ve already invested time in it

Sometimes, I feel like there’s a pressure on myself to continue a certain book, depending on how popular that book is (discussion to come on “pressure of over-hyped books”). It’s a sort of a “this book only has good reviews so why am I not enjoying it?” situation. I don’t think I’m alone on this either.

I see now that:

it’s okay to not like a book, it’s okay to quit reading a book you’re not enjoying and it’s okay to have a different opinion from everyone else. Chances are, you’re not alone. (Even if it’s some creepy crap you’re into, I bet you’re not the only one.)

A lot of people DNF books for many reasons so you are not alone. If you find yourself disliking a book and wanting to give up on it…

no matter how popular that book is.

It’s fine to be the only one disliking the book… You’re unique. Just have a valid reason. “The main character wears Addidas and I hate that brand therefore, I hate this novel.” No. Tell people why. You can’t just state you didn’t like it without pointing out what it was that caused you to stop reading!

To sum it up, if you don’t like a book and want to quit, you do what you gotta do. Capisce?

yeah

 

Leave a Reply

