Review: Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantasky | Spoiler free

JGTDODSAbout the book

Published: October 2000 (The edition I was looking at was 2009 and I didn’t realise it was so old)

Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy, Romance

Age Category: Young Adult

Format: E-book

Book one in a duology.

Sequel: Jessica Rules the Dark Side.  (1.5 novella: The Wedding.)

The undead can really screw up your senior year …

Marrying a vampire definitely doesn’t fit into Jessica Packwood’s senior year “get-a-life” plan. But then a bizarre (and incredibly hot) new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu shows up, claiming that Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth—and he’s her long-lost fiancé. Armed with newfound confidence and a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica makes a dramatic transition from average American teenager to glam European vampire princess. But when a devious cheerleader sets her sights on Lucius, Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war—and save Lucius’s soul from eternal destruction.

Book Review

About five years ago, I picked up my first Beth Fantasky book- Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. I really enjoyed it. I had a few problems with it but, back then, I didn’t think so critically. Immediately, I continued on to the next book and never made it.

It was way too long and so boring, in my opinion!

The first book had so many chapters and so did this one. It was so time-consuming and it made me not like the duology. I think, it would have been best with the first book and even the wedding novella. Happily Ever After and that’s all we needed.

I decided to give the duology another try. To do that, I had to re-read the first book because I couldn’t remember anything that had happened. It was torturous!  I made it through but I got to the point where I could barely stand the duology and there was not a chance of me picking up the second book.

I really wish that I had maybe looked up what happened just to remind myself and then read the second book. At least, I would have finished it. And, I would have been satisfied.

I just looked the book up on Goodreads and realised that people were three years waiting for the sequel to Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. Poor people. [AND NOW, AS MENTIONED BEFORE, I REALISED THAT IT WAS PUBLISHED IN 2000 SO PEOPLE WERE WAITING TWELVE YEARS.] There were a lot of mixed reviews and from the half of the novel that I read, it was quite sub-standard. (I have to say though, re-reading it, I still enjoyed the ending a second time.)

I realise now that the quality of writing was bad, the characters were quite annoying and, overall, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. Now, I wouldn’t recommend reading it. Even though I loved it the first time around.

The second book, in my opinion, was unnecessary. The whole first book was centred around Jessica accepting her fate and her and Lucius’s relationship. In the second book, **spoiler, sorta** there’s no more love-hate tension between them. Only heaps of drama surround Jessica accepting her fate. It was so un-needed.

Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side: 2.75/5 stars.

The novella: 3.5/5 stars.

Jessica Rules the Dark Side: 2/5 stars.

This duology was average.

But still, you can click here to go to Fantasky’s Goodreads page.

About the AuthorHi! I’m Beth Fantaskey, author of Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, Jessica Rules the Dark Side, Jekel Loves Hyde, Buzz Kill and my new middle grade novel, Isabel Feeney, Star Reporter. I live in rural Pennsylvania – the setting for most of my books – with my husband, three children, a slightly dysfunctional cat, a completely dysfunctional dog, an immortal goldfish and a hermit crab named Shelldon.

{Synopsis and author info taken from Goodreads}

One thought on “Review: Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantasky | Spoiler free

Leave a Reply

