Quarantine Book Review|Spoiler Free

So at the beginning of this week, I started reading a book called Quarantine by Bella Higgin, and I loved it so much, I decided to review it, so here goes nothing (this is spoiler free, so it’s safe for those of you who haven’t read it).

First Impression

My very first impression of this book was that it was a zombie apocalypse novel. I read the synopsis, and when I saw the word, “infection,” I immediately thought it was a zombie novel.

No, it’s not a zombie novel. I figured this out, and it started to irk me the wrong way when people in the comments kept calling the infected “zombies.” I’m pretty sure I’m not alone with that annoyance.

Bella opened the book with a compelling sentence, one that had me immediately interested. I could not put this book down, not even when it was 4 AM, and sleep was begging to overtake my body. I think the author did a wonderful job with cliffhangers at the end of almost every chapter, and with the sad/emotional scenes.

Everything was well developed, and Bella kept me in suspense until the very end.

Character Opinions

You could tell Bella spent time and effort into the characters, and how they’d change throughout the story. She really put thought into how the characters acted based on personality.

Every character was relatable to in some form or fashion. For example, I could put myself in Frankie’s shoes easily, and understand from her vantage point why she reacted the way she did to certain things.

Grammar and Spelling

I know, I have a pretty average understanding of grammar and spelling, and a pretty average vocabulary…but when you’re on Wattpad you tend to be able to tell if there’s something off.

In the past I’ve read several Wattpad books with bad grammar and many misspellings, but this book was practically devoid of any such thing. She had a vocabulary that went above my expectations, but there were some areas where I’ve noticed a word missing. That was it though. She didn’t spell any word wrong to my knowledge.

What I Enjoyed Most About the Book:

I ENJOYED THE WRITING STYLE THE MOST. She was descriptive, realistic, and everything was well developed. And a warning, Bella Higgin will not hesitate to put her characters through hell. Definitely a recommended read though.

 

There it is then! Let me know what you think of Bella Higgin’s book, if you’ve read it or if you’d like to.

-Karen

My Signature

2 thoughts on “Quarantine Book Review|Spoiler Free

Leave a Reply

