Cate’s Cock-Up

This is a new feature I’ve decided to put on the blog. To be completely honest, I think I’ve already messed up by naming this Cate’s Cock-Up. Nevertheless, this is the title I’m sticking with. (It was the only one I could think of that was alliterate.) Every month or so, I’m going to be talking about I time when I messed up. All will be relating to books, reading or something along those lines.

So, with that being said, let’s go!

This one was a couple of weeks ago when I was emailing Atom books. You see, I saw on their website that to be in with a chance of winning the book My Favourite Manson Girl by Alison Umminger, you had to email them. And, that’s what I did. But, instead, I called it My Favourite Mansion Girl. As in a type of house- mansion. And, I did it numerous times.

In the subject line, in the email, in the next email… a lot.

In the blurb on the back, it reads: “when her sister’s obsessive ex offers her a job researching the murderous Manson girls for his next indie film”. Nope, I read it as mansion girls. So, I got it into my head that it was about some haunted mansion and girls that either owned the house and killed people their or were killed there.

Nope.

It was about Charles freakin’ Manson and his girls.

I’m not even going to lie about it, I only realised that when the book arrived in the post. Now, this didn’t make me want to read it any less, but it kind of freaked me out. I wanted to learn what it had to offer. It was good too.

I was so embarrassed, I’m not going to lie. Like, mortified.

But, it’s not the worst thing that has happened to me.

If you would like to see what I thought of this book, you can check out my review which will be up soon.

Thanks for reading.

Question: have you ever had a cock-up like this?

yeah

2 thoughts on “Cate’s Cock-Up

Leave a Reply

