Our Demons, Best Friends by Diana T. Scott

Our Demons, Best Friends (Half of Me, #1)

About the book

Published: May 2015
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Category: New adult
Format: E-book, self published
Source: From the author (sent out at Christmas time as freebies)

Book one in the Half of Me series.

Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

Book ReviewBefore starting, briefly mentioning the cover-> beautiful. So pretty.

Typically, this isn’t a book I’d pick up because of the ages of the characters. Ava is 26 and Sebastian is 29. I usually read books with characters between the ages of sixteen and twenty four. I didn’t know about their ages until I started reading this book.

“I knew tomorrow would be another battle, one that a few days back I wouldn’t have even considered, but in that moment it was all I wanted to do. To be there, fighting. For you.”

I’m going to write this review sort of backwards today. I’m going to explain the reasons for my rating and working backwards with how it lost a star, not how it gained a star.

The biggest problem I had with this novel was the writing. This contributed to the loss of just over one star. The writing was very simplistic and plain. Usually, I’d be taking my virtual highlighter out a finding so many quotable things. Yes, there were a few quotes but not that many. The dialogue wasn’t as impressionable as other books have had.

The dialogue between the characters seemed very forced and unrealistic. Sometimes, the characters were talking about one topic and the next minute was like: “You like sausages, right?” Completely off topic and out of nowhere. It’s like they both silently agreed in their heads to change topic but didn’t let the reader know.

The overall problem I had with this novel was to do with the mechanics. The book went back and forth between present tense and past tense that it was so hard to continue reading. It really bugged me. So many times I wanted to give up on this novel and DNF it. But, I didn’t. Because I had read worse. The main tense of this novel was past tense but sometimes it just randomly switched to present tense. Like chapter fifteen. Chapter fifteen was all in present tense. It was so inconsistent.

Because of this, there were a lot of sentences that didn’t make sense. It looked like typos but it was the author writing in both past and present tense in the same sentence.

There were also some typos too but, if they were the only problem in this novel, I would have been able to overlook them and enjoy this so much more.

Also, with the dialogue, there was no punctuation. It was all:

I was standing there waiting for him “Hey” he said. I was happy to see him today “I’m so glad you could make it”

[That was made up dialogue but an example of the lack of punctuation]

Taking all of these problems into consideration, the book went from a 4.5 stars to a 2.75 stars. All of these problems really affected my reading experience. I’m quite annoyed about that because I liked the plot and the characters and they are what saved this novel.

I feel this story was very character driven. The plot was quite loose, the only major thing being the girl getting the guy. It’s hard to really say what I liked about these characters because of the fact that their dialogue was forced, making it hard to really get a feel for how they talk and act really.

I liked the back and forth between Sebastian and Ava and would have enjoyed seeing more of them together. There weren’t very many big scenes with them together, mainly “small talk” conversations. I’m also kind of disappointed with the ending. Once everything had really been sorted out it was just like ‘Epilogue: “yeah, that happened.”‘

I really think if there was some editing done to this novel, I would have enjoyed it a lot more. I’m not sure if I will continue this series. I do also own an E-book copy of the next book.

2.75 stars.

[While looking for the author’s bio, I stumbled upon a link to Wattpad where this full book has been uploaded. I looked through and it seems there has been quite a bit of editing done, especially to some of the problems mentioned above. While I would like to have read the edited version, I didn’t. So, my rating will stay the same.

If you would like to check out this new, edited version on Wattpad click this link. All chapters are there for free plus an extra epilogue.]

 

2 thoughts on “Our Demons, Best Friends by Diana T. Scott

Leave a Reply

