Breathe by Abbi Glines | Audiobook review

AboutthebookPublished: May 2011
Genre: Contemporary romance
Age Category: New adult
Format: Audiobook
Rating:  star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book one in the Sea Breeze series.

In the shore town of Sea Breeze, Sadie discovers that fame is nothing in the face of passion. A steamy read from bestselling author Abbi Glines.

Sadie White’s summer job is at the beach, but she won’t be working as a lifeguard. Since her mom is pregnant and refuses to work, Sadie will be taking over as a domestic servant for a wealthy family on a nearby island.

When the family arrives at their summer getaway, Sadie is surprised to learn that the owner of the house is Jax Stone, one of the hottest teen rockers in the world. If Sadie were normal—if she hadn’t spent her life raising her mother and taking care of the house—maybe she’d be excited about working for a rock star. But she’s not.

Even though Sadie isn’t impressed by Jax’s fame, he is drawn to her. Everything about Sadie fascinates Jax, but he fights his attraction: Relationships never work in his world, and as badly as he wants Sadie, he believes she deserves more. Yet as the summer stretches on, Jax’s passion leaves him breathless—and Sadie feels like the only source of oxygen.

Can their love overcome the disparity in their lifestyles? One breath at a time, they’re going to find out…

Bookreview

Breathe is the is the first audiobook I’ve ever tried. Admittedly, it was a weird experience. But, for the most part, I really enjoyed it. I’m not going to lie when I say I felt a bit uncomfortable at points. I feel like it’s a lot different reading a steaming scene and listening to a steamy scene. It was terribly naïve of me to think there’d be less steamy scene because the main character was seventeen. It is an Abbi Glines book after all. Yesterday, where I listened to the bulk of it- over 4 hours in one sitting with small breaks- I went from listening on loudspeaker to listening with earphones. When it got to any moment I thought was steamy I was like “quick, where’s the earphones?”, hoping a member of my family didn’t come home at that point in time. That would be awkward.

I liked the narrator of Sadie. She was easy to understand, it was read at a good pace and she did good impressions of the other characters. I especially loved her doing the voice of Ms. Mary.

“You’re with me, Sadie. When you’re off the clock, you’re not my employee. You’re my.. Air.”
I frowned at him. “Your air?”
He grinned. “Well, girlfriend seems to be a shallow word for what I feel for you..”

Finally, did I understand why it was called Breathe. [Satisfied smile] I love when we find out why a books called what it’s called.

What I didn’t enjoy was the male narrator. It talked as if the person listening was slow. It was like a sloth reading compared to the female narrator. But, it was entertaining when he voiced Sadie. There was this one moment, Sadie says “Why are you frowning?” in a sad voice and I found it hilarious when the man said it. He put on a girl voice so it was really strange. I actually laughed out loud. Quite a few times at that too.

There was actually one point where I was listening and my laptop got stuck. I was so immersed in the book and what was happening that I was like internally screaming at my laptop to un-freeze and let me get back on to see what’s happening as if I was watching a movie. Then I was like “damn, no. It’s an audiobook not a movie.”

I really liked this book. I see on Goodreads there are a lot of average reviews, comments like “I can see this is her first book” and other things but I may have enjoyed this the most out of all of her books.

“I’m here because the reason I get up each morning, needs me as much as I need her.”

There doesn’t seem to be anything I really disliked about the books. Well, besides Jessica. She put so much on Sadie’s shoulders. I could relate so much to Sadie at those points. I know what it’s like to have that much responsibility. But, I liked the way she was written, just not her as a person.

From the moment I began the book and we met Marcus, I felt so bad for him. In my mind, he did not stand a chance whatsoever. It kind of saddened me because he was such a nice and genuine guy.

I’ve been on a new adult rock-star binge lately. I didn’t even realise until I’d marked this as “read” on Goodreads.

I talked about Breathe in my most recent Tag Thursday- the Book Courtship tag.  I mentioned it as I book I will definitely re-read. I hadn’t even finished it at that point. But, I think pretty much all of Abbi Glines’ books are re-reads for me. I will definitely be reading the next books in the series.

Other books I have reviewed by Abbi Glines: Until Friday Night.

AbouttheauthorAbbi Glines

Abbi Glines is a #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Rosemary Beach, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, Field Party and Existence series. She never cooks unless baking during the Christmas holiday counts. She believes in ghosts and has a habit of asking people if their house is haunted before she goes in it. She drinks afternoon tea because she wants to be British but alas she was born in Alabama. When asked how many books she has written she has to stop and count on her fingers. When she’s not locked away writing, she is reading, shopping (major shoe and purse addiction), sneaking off to the movies alone, and listening to the drama in her teenagers lives while making mental notes on the good stuff to use later. Don’t judge.

You can connect with Abbi online in several different ways. She uses social media to procrastinate.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

blogger

Have you read any Abbi Glines books?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

 

 

3 thoughts on “Breathe by Abbi Glines | Audiobook review

Leave a Reply

