Shoot the Gap by Jordan Ford | ARC

Shoot The Gap (A Big Play Novel, #4)Aboutthebook

Published: To be published July 15 2016
Genre: Contemporary romance
Age Category: young adult
Format: e-book
Source: received from the author in exchange for an honest review
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book four in the Big Play series.

Tyler Schumann has always been known as Nelson High’s goofy clown, the guy with the big mouth. But there’s something people don’t know: he’s tired of being in the shadows of his Raiders’ buddies, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to get the one girl in school he wants to finally notice him: Roxanne Carmichael.

Sammy Carmichael is just one of the guys, known for her mad boarding skills and her razor-sharp wit. But she has a secret, too—a crush on her best friend. It’s a relationship she’s not willing to risk damaging by getting all romantic about it.

When Tyler asks for Sammy’s help, she’s stoked to be able to spend a little one-on-one time with him. Their secret mission will bring them closer together…until she realizes what he’s really after—her sister. Tired of being in the shadows herself, Sammy sets out on a mission of her own to prove that she’s the Carmichael girl he really wants.

But the secrets and lies she discovers as she embarks on her quest could tear her relationship with Tyler to shreds, and Sammy must decide which lies are worth exposing and how much damage the truth will cause.

Bookreview

It’s getting really hard for me to rate the quick, clean cutesy YA contemporary romances. I’ve been drawing away from them and reading more NA which features characters with a lot more problems (well, the ones I read anyway) and a twisted plot line. I don’t really know how to rate these quick reads.

This is the fourth book in the series and I previously hadn’t read any of the other books. I didn’t think you had to- each book features a different couple. But, now after only reading the fourth book, I strongly recommend it.

Sammy and Tyler and both in the same friend group. The friends are the other couples. There’s not getting around not seeing those couples. This series works just like any other series- the storyline starts from the first book and continues throughout the other books. There’s just a spice of romance on the side of the two characters telling the story.

I found it really difficult to understand what they were talking about because I hadn’t read the previous books. You’re expected to know what’s going on and I didn’t. It’s like every book had a little story line and that story line was part of a bigger plot which climaxed in the final book.

Although I did enjoy it, I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I had read the previous books.

In saying that, I think I will go back and read all four books in order because I did enjoy the characters very much. They were very life-like and they bonded so well together. Sammy was a very relatable character and I really liked her. I can’t say the same for her sister Roxy. She was an ass and I really didn’t like her. I don’t have an older sister so I can’t compare but I do have two younger siblings and if I was like Roxy I would hate myself. She was horrible to Sam and only cared about herself. I didn’t like her mother then either. We got to see her opening up a bit with Sammy near the end but otherwise, I didn’t like her. She took sides with Roxy way too often.

I have to consider the fact that for all Sammy’s hard-ass coating, maybe there’s a girl under there who just wants someone to make her his number one priority.

The romance was a bit too quick for me but I think it was because the relationship was already established in the previous books, I just didn’t get to see that. Tyler and Sam are already really good friends so there’s only really one step to go. No first meeting, no getting to know each other, no first time spending time together. They’d done all of that as friends.

[Quick side note: have you even seen High School Musical? You know when they sing the status-quo (sp?) song and there’s the like skater dudes and one of them plays the cello? Yeah, I imagined Tyler to look like his friend. And, Sammy to dress similarly.]

Overall, I quite enjoyed this book and as I’ve said before, I’m going to go back and read the three previous when I have time.

Abouttheauthor

Jordan Ford is a young adult romance author.

“Writing high school romances brings me the greatest joy. My heart bubbles, my insides zing, and I am at my happiest when immersed in a great scene with characters who have become real to me.”

Her first series, The Big Game Novels is based on a high school football team in the fictional town of Nelson, Idaho. The first book, The Playmaker, comes out March 22nd, 2016.

“I can’t wait to share this series with people. I’ve totally fallen in love with this team and the girls that win their hearts.”

blogger

Have you read any of the books in this series? Thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

4 thoughts on “Shoot the Gap by Jordan Ford | ARC

  1. Jordan Ford says:

    Thanks for your review! Sorry you didn’t get to read the previous books first. You definitely would be missing things. I’m glad you liked Sammy and Tyler and I really hope you like the other books in the series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

