Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Catching Jordan

AboutthebookPublished: December 2011
Genre: Contemporary
Age Category: Young adult
Format: E-book
Source: Library
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book one in the Hundred Oaks series.

ONE OF THE BOYS

What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university.

But everything she’s ever worked for is threatened when Ty Green moves to her school. Not only is he an amazing QB, but he’s also amazingly hot. And for the first time, Jordan’s feeling vulnerable. Can she keep her head in the game while her heart’s on the line?

Bookreview

I’m Irish, play basketball and have been to America once. The kind of football in this book is not the kind we play here and with my one trip to America, I would have gone to see an NBA game, not an NFL one. However, I love American football. And, that was the best aspect of this book.

At first, I really liked Jordan. It was cool to be captain and quarterback of the football team. She was the only girl and was following her dreams. But, then she got annoying. It’s like with the more drama, the more annoying she became.

I really liked her friends. Henry, Carter and JJ was really kind to her and treated her as their equal. I liked the fact that she was respected by her team and not joked about. I thought Henry was really funny. He really cared about her and she had no idea. I was rooting for Henry from the beginning.

I didn’t really like Ty. I thought he was going to be the swoon-worthy hero we all wanted to read about but I found myself not really caring about him. Sure, I felt bad about his home situation but that didn’t mean I instantly shipped him and Woods.

“For what it’s worth,” Dad says, running his fingers over the picture, “I’ve never seen anyone run faster than Henry after you hurt your knee last week.”

I almost gave up on this book and really the only reason I continued reading it was for the football and her friends. It felt like it dragged on forever. And, I didn’t even realise that the random pages of one line sentences was “poetry”. I thought that was really pointless. Like, really pointless. I didn’t really like reading all that and I would have liked it if it weren’t included.

Woods, as I said before, got really annoying. She was so damn emotional. Every time she had the chance to cry, she did. All she seemed to do was cry, and cry and cry. It really, really bugged me. For acting so damn “manly” she sure cried it public way too often.

Also, when she started hanging out with Carrie and Marie, it was like she didn’t even realise girls existed, let alone that she was one. Everything was like “Oh my god, girls actually do that?” Yes, you bloody idiot. I mean, I’m a lot like Jordan with the whole sports-related schedule and lack of girly fashion sense but I’m not that bad.

And, there was a realisation about Henry and suddenly it was like “Oh my god it has to be Henry.” If you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I’m talking. That was also extremely annoying. She went from “cool” to “tolerable to “nope, I can’t even think about you”.

I’m not going to say I enjoyed this book a lot but it did teach me so much more about football. And, even for a slight moment made me want to be just like her. (I mean a football captain and quarterback.)

I’m not sure if I have any interest in the following books- I thought they’d be about the other football players but they’re not and I’m disappointed- but from reviews I’ve read the series gets better. AbouttheauthorMiranda Kenneally

Growing up in Tennessee, Miranda Kenneally dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she writes, and works for the State Department in Washington, D.C., where George W. Bush once used her shoulder as an armrest. Miranda loves Twitter, Star Trek and her husband.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

 

If you’ve read this first book have you continued the series?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

One thought on “Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Leave a Reply

