Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

AboutthebookPublished: July 2012
Genre: paranormal romance, retelling
Age category: Young Adult
Format: E-book
Source: library
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book one in the Daughters of Zeus series.

One day Persephone is an ordinary high school junior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.

There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?

Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.

Bookreview

This was different to any other Hades and Persephone retelling I’ve ever read. And, that’s what I like the most about this book. Persephone was the real goddess Persephone, she just didn’t know who she was. Everything in the book made so much sense. Every character was someone created by the Greeks, bar a couple humans, and their lives intertwined so well.

Boris put so much effort into this book and researching must have taken absolutely ages. I just loved the fact that I could just look up a character’s name from the book and instantly have all of their information which was completely correct to the book itself. Some characters, I’m ashamed to say, I didn’t know anything about. I did actually have to look them up. By reading this book, I found so much more about Greek mythology that I didn’t know.

This whole book was set on the concept that Hades was protecting Persephone by keeping her in the Underworld, all the while she’s being chased down by Boreas. And, I looked him up, again this is something that actually happened in  the mythology. Because that was what the focus was on, I felt like the book wasn’t really going anywhere.

Also, most Hades and Persephone retelling are romances and while this was sort of trying to be a romance, it lacked actually romance. And, it was like of a 0-100 situation when it reached the end.

There was a huge magical element to this book that I’ve never read in any other Greek mythological retellings. It’s like, the characters had powers. And, Persephone too. She was just learning how to use them. I kind of found the whole magic thing hard to follow. I got bored and wasn’t really sure what was happening. Also, this is another 0-100 moment, I feel. It’s like she didn’t know how to use them and then all at once she was so powerful. That annoyed me.

I’m disappointed with this book- I really expected so much more. I think, I only continued reading it because I wanted to learn more about Greek mythology. I’m not sure if I will continue with the rest of the series. Maybe, if the rest of the books come up somewhere, such as my library, I may continue, but I don’t think I’ll be spending my money on them anytime soon.

Slight spoiler: This book ends on a cliff-hanger.

AbouttheauthorKaitlin BevisI spent my childhood curled up with a book, and a pen. If the ending didn’t agree with me, I rewrote it. Now, I write my own endings, middles, and beginnings for the Daughters of Zeus series, including the best selling novel, Persephone.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and I spent high school and college learning everything I could so that one day I could achieve that goal. I graduated college with my BFA and Masters in English with a EDs in School Library Media.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

2 thoughts on “Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

Leave a Reply

