August TBR

augusttbr

This month, I’m doing my TBR a little differently. I’ll be back to school at the end of the month (OH MY GOD KILL ME NOW)  so I’ll be mentally preparing for that but it’s also my birthday this month! 7 days away 🙂 I want to buy some books with money I get.

ARC August is this month (obviously you idiot) and, although I didn’t sign up, I’m going to internally motivate myself to read some ARCs. I have one new ARC and am supposed to be getting another and then I have one old ARC.

And then I’ve got three books that I just want to read. One is a buddy-read.

This is a VERY optimistic TBR for a mood reader (even if it doesn’t seem like it) but I’m just going to see how many of these I can actually get through.

ARCs:

Geronimo by Melissa Pearl

Songbird #8

Jane is on a mission of self-discovery. Having lost the love of her life in a horrific motorcycle accident on their wedding day, she’s been a shell of the woman she once was. Learning to live without Blake is going to take more than just waking up each morning. So, she leaves for England to return to the place it all ended, in the hopes of figuring out how to negotiate life on her own. What she doesn’t expect, is to meet Harry Tindal, and for the hunky Brit to present her with a surprising proposition.

Harry never intended to approach the red-haired beauty when she stepped into the pub, but the music drew his feet her way and before he knew it, he’d struck up a conversation with the fascinating woman, only to discover they were on similar missions. Trying to escape his painful past, Harry decides to step out of his comfort zone and invite Jane to join him for a fortnight of no regrets.

“No sex. No histories. No awkward conversations. Just two people living life to the max for two weeks. Then we say adios, thanks for a good time, and go our separate ways.”

Jane can’t resist, and the couple embark on a journey of faith, that soon turns into something neither of them expected. As hearts unfurl, truths rise to the surface and the couple must decide if they’re able to risk love once more and hand their hearts to someone new.

I’ve read the first Songbird novel and now this is the eight. Thankfully it’s a companion series.

blogger

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I’ve heard this is really cute and have been meaning to read it FOREVER.

blogger

Other books:

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

According to Ponyboy, there are two kinds of people in the world: greasers and socs. A soc (short for “social”) has money, can get away with just about anything, and has an attitude longer than a limousine. A greaser, on the other hand, always lives on the outside and needs to watch his back. Ponyboy is a greaser, and he’s always been proud of it, even willing to rumble against a gang of socs for the sake of his fellow greasers–until one terrible night when his friend Johnny kills a soc. The murder gets under Ponyboy’s skin, causing his bifurcated world to crumble and teaching him that pain feels the same whether a soc or a greaser.

This will be the first classic I’ve picked up on my own. Tragic.

blogger

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

This is the book I’m buddy reading. I DNF’d it last year when it released. Hopefully this BR will give me some motivation to finish it.

blogger

No Heroes by Anna Seidl.

An ordinary schoolgirl with a carefree bunch of friends, Miriam’s just embarked on her first relationship with her loving boyfriend Toby. She lives with her dad and she has a good relationship with her grandparents. All this ordinary happiness is shattered when one of Miriam’s schoolmates goes berserk one day at school with a handgun and kills several pupils and teachers. Toby is shot right in front of her. Shock, grief, bereavement, terror—Miriam and her friends run the gamut of emotions in the days, weeks and months following the shooting. But the worst emotion of all is guilt. “Is it our fault?” is the haunting question that tortures Miriam as she tries to piece her life together again.

This was originally published in German only. Now, an Irish publishing house has translated it. Goodreads says it’s not out until October but I’ve got a copy. Possibly out everywhere else in October. I’m not really sure.

I started reading this today in the bookshop while I was waiting for my mom so I bought it. I was on a summer book buying ban and I broke it for this one book. 😦 Oh well.

blogger

What have you got on your TBR?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

8 thoughts on “August TBR

  1. Jess I. says:

    Haha, I think The Outsiders is the first classic I picked up on my own as well (at least, TRUE classic. I still consider Harry Potter a classic… hmmph)! I think I gave it 4 stars, but it’s kind of faded away from me. I’m kind of a SJM newbie but I’m loving her writing! I still need to get to TaB, QoS, ACOTAR, and ACOMAF. SO MANY.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Haha. Great minds think alike. HP could be considered a classic of our generation. A classic I still (don’t kill me) have yet to read. Do you read many classics? I’m not that big a fan (if that’s not evident).

      Yeah, her writing is good. I’m not a big fantasy fan though- especially not high fantasy- so I have yet to finish one of her books. I’m hoping on my second try of ACOTAR, I’ll ike it much better. Maybe with ACOMOF also I might then give the ToG series a go. What’s TaB? Hahaha.

      Thanks for commenting!!

      Like

      • Jess I. says:

        I don’t read that many traditional classics unless I’m told to in school! And TaB is The Assassin’s Blade, which is the collection of short stories pertaining to ToG 🙂

        Like

      • Cate says:

        Ah yeah. Our English department is actually doing pretty good on picking newer books. I had to read A Thousand Splendid Suns last year (school year that just passed) and I’m pretty sure this year it’ll be The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

        And oh yeah. I’ve heard of that. I’m an idiot. I was trying to figure out which SJM book and thought of that one but the letters (for some stupid reason) didn’t match up in my head. Anyway…

        Like

    • Cate says:

      Okay!! I hope I’ll be able to power through.

      Yeah, I’ve heard it really cute and I got the arc so long ago. I don’t know if ill have time this month though. I was convinced to buy Colleen Hoover’s new book so I’m currently reading that and then got another new arc. Tell me if it’s good if you get a chance to read it 🙂 would love to hear your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

