Lost and Found by Nicole Williams

AboutthebookPublished: May 2013
Genre: romance, cowboy (why not?)
Age Category: New adult
Format: E-book
Source: Amazon (free)
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book One in the Lost and Found series.

There’s complicated. And there’s Rowen Sterling.

After numbing pain for the past five years with boys, alcohol, and all-around apathy, she finds herself on a Greyhound bus to nowhere Montana the summer after she graduates high school. Her mom agreed to front the bill to Rowen’s dream art school only if Rowen proves she can work hard and stay out of trouble at Willow Springs Ranch. Cooking breakfast at the crack of dawn for a couple dozen ranch hands and mucking out horse stalls are the last things in the world Rowen wants to spend her summer doing.

Until Jesse Walker saunters into her life wearing a pair of painted-on jeans, a cowboy hat, and a grin that makes something in her chest she’d thought was frozen go boom-boom. Jesse’s like no one else, and certainly nothing like her. He’s the bright and shiny to her dark and jaded.

Rowen knows there’s no happily-ever-after for the golden boy and the rebel girl—happily-right-now is a stretch—so she tries to forget and ignore the boy who makes her feel things she’s not sure she’s ready to feel. But the more she pushes him away, the closer he seems to get. The more she convinces herself she doesn’t care, the harder she falls.

When her dark secrets refuse to stay locked behind the walls she’s kept up for years, Rowen realizes it’s not just everyone else she needs to be honest with. It’s herself.

Bookreview

I’m going to keep this review short. This book was a four star read for me. I really liked all of the characters in this book. They were well-developed and I really loved Jesse. ( I may have mentioned him as a book boyfriend in my Sunshine Blogger Award post.) This is the first book I’ve read with a cowboy. It was great. And, even though I wasn’t supposed to, I also really liked the character of Garth and at some points wished he was the main love interest.

“Are you seeing anyone? And before you get all literal on me, you know what I mean. Do you have a boyfriend?”

~

“My turn. Are you seeing someone? And before you get all vague on me, you know what I mean. A special girl, boy, or cow in your life?”

The Walker family had a really crazy schedule. They were up at like 4 in the morning. I don’t think I’d be able for that. But, if I were to live on a ranch, I’d want to be with these people. It was just so homely.

I only really had two major problems with this book (apart from being really pissed off by her asshole mother). They were both problems I had with Rowen. The first problem was that she cried way too much. Like, ugh, I hate characters that always cry. There were even moments where there was literally no need to cry.

The other problem I had was that she apparently suffered from anxiety and had panic attacks. “I waited for the panic attack.” There was no previous evidence of her having anxiety. This isn’t THAT big a deal but when you actually suffer from panic attacks, you want authors to be able to do it well. And, just telling us that she had anxiety isn’t well.

Also, this is another thing that annoyed me but I didn’t deduct anything from my rating because of this but the chapters were really long. Especially for a contemporary book. The chapters were like twenty (kindle fire 8) pages each. Each chapter was like over five percent.

For the story itself, I don’t think I’d pick up the other books in this series. But, I would consider picking it up for the characters. I think I will be picking up the books in this series about Garth because I would be interested in reading more about him.

 

AbouttheauthorNicole  Williams

I’m a wife, a mom, a writer. I started writing because I loved it and I’m still writing because I love it. I write romance because I still believe in true love, kindred spirits, and happy endings.

Goodreads | Twitter

 

 

8 thoughts on “Lost and Found by Nicole Williams

    • Cate says:

      Yes, I know. They really don’t. Especially with new adult romance writers and self-published authors. A lot of self-published authors have their first book free. I don’t know how many free books I have on my kindle that have been amazing. I think, people just assume they’re not that good and that’s why they’re free but that’s rarely the case.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

