ARC: Geronimo by Melissa Pearl

Aboutthebook

Published: August 18 2016
Genre: contemporary romance
Age Category: New Adult/Adult
Format: E-book
Source: Author in exchange for an honest review
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book 8 in the Songbird companion series.

Jane is on a mission of self-discovery. Having lost the love of her life in a horrific motorcycle accident on their wedding day, she’s been a shell of the woman she once was. Learning to live without Blake is going to take more than just waking up each morning. So, she leaves for England to return to the place it all ended, in the hopes of figuring out how to negotiate life on her own. What she doesn’t expect, is to meet Harry Tindal, and for the hunky Brit to present her with a surprising proposition.

Harry never intended to approach the red-haired beauty when she stepped into the pub, but the music drew his feet her way and before he knew it, he’d struck up a conversation with the fascinating woman, only to discover they were on similar missions. Trying to escape his painful past, Harry decides to step out of his comfort zone and invite Jane to join him for a fortnight of no regrets.

“No sex. No histories. No awkward conversations. Just two people living life to the max for two weeks. Then we say adios, thanks for a good time, and go our separate ways.”

Jane can’t resist, and the couple embark on a journey of faith, that soon turns into something neither of them expected. As hearts unfurl, truths rise to the surface and the couple must decide if they’re able to risk love once more and hand their hearts to someone new.

Bookreview

I really liked the character of Jane. The book starts of really emotional and I was almost crying with what was happening. Thankfully, Jane is strong and goes out on a journey of self-discovery. What she was dealing with was really hard and I can completely understand her reactions to things or her thoughts. It’s hard letting someone go so unexpectedly and trying to move on. And, Jane had the worst possible case of this. It wasn’t like Blake had moved on and she had to deal with it, it was a case of whether on not she could let herself move on from him. I think that was a really hard decision for her and could completely understand her hesitancy.

“Something about her face seemed to radiate a heartbreaking loneliness.”

Harry was a really likeable character too. He was funny and kind. He really wanted to help Jane. I thought it was such a nice idea that he so eagerly jumped on board with helping her complete a list when he had no idea even why she had written it in the first place.

“Oh man, he was adorable.”

The book was easy to understand and follow. Both characters were trying to move on with their lives and sought solace in the other. They were both trying to move on from their pasts with the other person all the while the other person had no idea what they were moving on from.

The book was really cute and I loved the two characters together. They were a great ship. (#fangirlmode) Brandy was another cute little character and it was really nice seeing Jane and Harry interact with the girl. I really liked the fact that Harry could relate to her from when he was younger.

I think, the twist between the two near the end was predictable. Possibly because I read something similar in another book. (One I’m not going to name because if you’ve read that, I spoil the ending of this.) But I predicted the ending of that too. It’s still upsetting nonetheless.

While I really enjoyed this book, I still had a couple of problems with it.

The first one being: I would have liked to actually see the list Jane had. We were just kind of told that she crossed off things- some things we got to see but not all. It was kind of like we heard she had things on the list now crossed out but we didn’t know when they were crossed out or what they actually were.

Another problem I had was that while they were travelling to the different countries in Europe, we didn’t really get to see much of that. They spent two weeks travelling and I would have enjoyed seeing them in the different places and, like the point above, actually crossing off the things on Jane’s list.

Lastly, I felt, in terms of the plot, this book could have been aimed at teens/YA readers. The plot line was a little cliché- the whole road trip of self-discovery. It was cute but I could see it myself recommending it more for teens. I think, the only thing that really got it aiming higher was the fact that the characters were twenty five and they had sex. Sometimes, I think their dialogue was even a little teen-like.

“It’s not the apartment that’s magical, Harry. It’s you and me.”

Unlike the first book in the series -Fever (which you can see my review for here)- music didn’t really have that big of an influence. It was just something they both liked to listen to and bonded over one song, hence the title, and a similar music interest.

Fever will continue to be my favourite for the time being but I really do enjoy the books in this series and want to continue reading more of them. Geronimo just wasn’t that addicting for me as was Fever.

Abouttheauthor

Melissa PearlMelissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan… not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. “Best. Year. Ever!!” She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books, ranging in genres from Fantasy to Romantic Suspense to Contemporary Romance. She loves the variety and is excited about the books she has coming out in 2016.

“I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love.”

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

12 thoughts on “ARC: Geronimo by Melissa Pearl

Leave a Reply

