The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

ImessedupI was tagged by Michelle @ Addictively Turning Pages so, thank you, Michelle. If you haven’t checked out her blog you should definitely head over.

Let’s get going!

blogger

A character appearance you misread or imagined differently

I do this a lot. Sometimes, I just kind of go blank in a big block of text and miss important information then have to form my own image ’cause I’m too lazy to go back and find their actual description. Or, sometimes, I pick up a book where a character has a name I’ve seen in another book and I can only imagine them like the character with the same name from the other book. So, subconsciously, I ignore their character description.

It’s especially hard when they have a really common name because then I have too many look-alikes in my head.

blogger

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong

Nearly all of the characters from A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hoessini and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. They’re just… no. The hardest one to me in ACOTAR is Rhysand. Like, what? Rice? Reece? (I’ve found out now but still.) And real life names that are near the same I struggle with. Also, a lot of like unsual-to-outside-America names I find difficult. (No offence Americans.)Also, the name Raleigh. I saw that in a book- I feel like it was an Abbi Glines book- and I have no idea how you say it. Riley? Rah-leigh? I don’t know.

blogger

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure

I have WAY too many but my favourite is the love/hate enemies to lovers trope. I could live off books with just that.

blogger

A cliché character that you like better on screen than reading about

The mean popular girl. It’s not that I like this trope but I’d rather deal with it on TV than in books.

 

blogger

A word or phrase that you learned because of it’s use in books

“Holy hawt chemistry, Batman.” ~ Obsidian

I couldn’t think of anything else and I love saying this.

blogger

Have you ever read/not completed a required reading book for school?

I don’t really get those but I did have one for French- 35 kilos d’espoir- that I just couldn’t read. It really didn’t interest me so I didn’t read it. It didn’t matter in the end thankfully.

blogger

How you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

Yah, I do it all the time. The most recent I can think of was Beth’s POV from Dare You to by Katie McGarry. I have a review of Dare You to which mentions why if you would like to check it out here.

blogger

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Most likely. I usually specifically don’t plan on days I know I want to read/have something to read. I’m the organiser within my group of friends so it has some benefits.

blogger

That was really fun! If you’ve done this tag already you don’t have to do it again. But I tag:

Jasmine @How Useful It Is  | Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts | Lara @ The Heathen | Stephanie @ Teacher of YA | Krystal @ Nerdy is Beautiful | Poulami @ Daydreaming Books | Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them | Flaneur @ The Jouska

And anyone else who wants to have a go!

yeah

 

27 thoughts on “The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

  1. Lara says:

    Thanks for the Tag, if you don’t link it to a post and you just put in the url to the persons site, they won’t get notified, unless they read this post 🙂 This going to be kinda hard for me to answer tbh, have to think deeply.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      No problem! Oops, I didn’t know that. I just got really lazy and stopped going onto people’s about page. I’ll fix it another time. Thanks for letting me know! Haha. I think this was the easier tag I’ve done.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine says:

    I’m smiling about the name trouble. Me too! The Winner’s Curse Kestrel? Somehow I just go with Crystal for like half a book until they focus on her name meaning and all that then I take the time to study it closely.. Haha Thanks for the tag 😊

    Like

  3. TeacherofYA says:

    I’m glad to be in on the fun. I’m going to spend one whole day just doing tags! I’m gonn do them right after I finish the book I’m reading. It’ll be a nice break and I’ll get a breath of fresh air getting my head out of a book!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    So, I pretty much cancel plans all the time to read. :O Either that or I don’t make plans to begin with. I used to be such an adventurous, outdoorsy person. Now I’m the homebody, or maybe like the weird cat lady (??). Lol. Plus that little baby reading gif cracked me up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

