Nerve Movie Review

Last weekend I went to see the movie Nerve. If you don’t know, this movie is adaptation of a book by the same name by Jeanne Ryan. It follows high-school senior and all around safe girl, Vee who signs up to an online live dare game in exchange for money.

I really, REALLY, enjoyed this movie. It was both fun and suspenseful. It begins with Vee’s friends playing the game and doing stupid little dares given to her by the “watchers”. Vee then signs up and, just like her friend Sidney, the dares are fun and simple. But, as the movie progresses, they only get worse and worse and the drama and suspense builds.

Throughout it, I kept turning to the friend I was with saying things that were going to happen. Pretty much every single time I was wrong. I was both really surprised by this book in general and how much I enjoyed it.

I’m not going to lie, the only reason I went to see this movie was because there was nothing else on that I was interested in.

I really liked all of the actors playing their parts. I’m a big fan of Emma Roberts, ever since I watched her show on Nickelodeon when I was a kid. Dave Franco and Machine Gun Kelly were also great. Vee and Ian were a cute couple.

Ian, from the start, really liked Vee and I thought that was cute because even her friends were trying to get her to change. I kind of felt bad for her best friend though. He liked her just the way she was and he seemed in love with her. Of course, I had to roll my eyes at that trope but it wasn’t that bothersome. (More, I didn’t have time to think about it.)

There was this one scene- if you’ve seen it you should know what I’m talking about- and I was like “oh god, oh god, oh god, no, no…” It was super suspenseful and even scared me slightly. I was thinking the worse. (It’s the scene with Ty and how he gets into the final.)

While I really enjoyed this book, I did find the main character annoying at some points. She couldn’t tell her Mom about college; she kind of joined Nerve in spite of her friend Sidney; she said some really mean things to Sidney just cause.

The ending was kind of predictable but at the same time it wasn’t. I was sort of expecting it but I wasn’t exactly sure the specifics of what was going to happen.

If you’re into movies that are fun but have a bit of edge this is definitely one you should check out.

{I don’t own any of the images above}

Have you seen this movie? Have you read the book? What did you think? If you’ve read the book I’d love to hear from you! I’ve been wanting to read it but most reviews on Goodreads I see are bad ones.

Thanks for reading!

yeah

5 thoughts on “Nerve Movie Review

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Haven’t done either, but it kind of reminds me of Joelle Charbonneau’s book NEED. Same social network website premise. Same “starting out tame” concept. So I’ve been reluctant because I didn’t want to read another version of the same book. But it seems kind of good!
    I’m interested now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

