Re-reading Books

Capture.PNG

Unlike many people, I am not someone who has any issues whatsoever with re-reading books. In fact I do it frequently, and people often question me about this.

Now let me get something straight. When I re-read a book, I usually do so at least 1 year later. To those who don’t re-read, you would be quite surprised at how much your perspective on the book would change when reading it a second time, because it’s not the book that changes. It’s you.

As you grow older, you have different values, different opinions, your view on certain issues change. In all honesty, I don’t think I have ever reread a book and had the same perspective as when I read it the first time. People tend to think that rereading is ‘boring’, because you already know what happens and so you lack interest. But believe me, you would be surprised at how much you have forgotten from the story. And not only that, but you’d be surprised at all the little things you’ve actually missed.

I don’t really feel like knowing the story and what happens in the end is much of a problem, because then I am more likely to focus on details, descriptions, and the character development. I begin to understand things that didn’t make sense before, things I couldn’t have understood at the time that I read it. Honestly, reading a book the second time is just as exciting as reading it the first time. It does not make the experience less enjoyable.

People always tell me they ‘don’t have time’ to reread. Seriously, if you had time to read it the first time, you sure as hell have time to read it a second.

 

 Thanks for reading!

yellow bubble

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Re-reading Books

    • Abbie says:

      Currently I’m not re-reading anything, but usually when I buy books I like to re-read them after a while :p It’s often the ones that I feel really attached to, the ones that have affected the way I think. It takes time but it’s so interesting to see how much my perspective changes! Definitely worth it 🙂

      Like

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I love to reread. But it’s been awhile. I used to reread when I had nothing to read, but lately there is so much out there! But there are some I read and never reviewed on Goodreads, so I want to go back to some of those so I can post review, you know?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Abbie says:

      Yeah sometimes I want to reread a book but I just have such a long reading list! So I actually take my time choosing the book I want to reread :p And haha yeah I know what you mean, there are books I want to go back to so I can post a review too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

