Book Chat: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

itendswithus

mythoughts

This is my spoiler-filled discussion of It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. If you have no read this yet, you can click here to be taken to my spoiler-free discussion. I’ve you’ve read it/want to be a rebel, stick around. Although, with the latter, I think you’re making a bad decision.

Also, just to let you know, there will be a cross-over with my spoiler free review so there’s no need to read that review too. I will be talking about the same things I did in the other review but in more detail.

Like most people, I went into this completely blind. I’m not going to lie, I probably would have looked at others’ reviews had there been any. I bought this book the day after it’s release and I’ve only just finished it and gotten around to writing this review. I know, I know, how could you take so long to read it? Well, because I was having a lot of trouble getting through this book. No, not because it was slow-paced or bad, it was that it was emotionally hard. But, if you’ve read it, you probably understand.

“I want to fuck you.”

I was actually thinking about putting this quote up in the header image. I thought it would be funny.

To me, although this book had a really hard topic, there were still a lot of things that we could just laugh at. Such as this above! And, when Ryle showed up at her door literally begging for sex it was the funniest thing ever. Also, when Lily’s mom thought that Ryle was a waiter… I thought that was pretty funny too.

I liked Lily as a character. She was kind, strong, selfless and caring. She was a good protagonist and thankfully, I didn’t have any major problems with her. When she first met Atlas, she was caring and selfless with him. She ignored what people said about him and helped him because that’s what he needed. He didn’t have anyone really, until she came into the picture.

Atlas, for a lot of the book, is a character we only see in Lily’s diary entries. We know that he was someone from her past and is soon going to enter back into the picture. I’m not exactly sure why but I really liked Atlas’s character. I liked the fact that, even though he wasn’t in the best state, people talked about him and he had no one, he still didn’t expect pity from anyone. Or, even ask for help. I’m not going to lie, it was getting pretty hard to get through the book when I knew that the diary entries were coming to the end and we weren’t going to see any more of Lily and Atlas’s past together. I really liked Atlas and wanted to see a lot more of him.

Thankfully, Atlas enters into the present. But, by this time, Ryle is already in the picture. Let me just tell you, I am completely team Atlas and was from the start. I really, really, liked Ryle but I just liked Atlas a lot more.

“No one is exclusively bad, nor is anyone exclusively good. Some are just forced to work harder at suppressing the bad.”

When Atlas said in the restaurant that he wished he’d met her a year ago I was like “Oh my god, forget about Ryle!” And, then, near the end, when he said that he actually did come back for her I was near tears (not really).  I seriously wanted Atlas to have come back for Lily and for Lily to have seen him and then they had a happily ever after that Lily had never met Ryle.

As I’ve said before, I did like Ryle but never near as much as I liked Atlas. But, the thing I like most about this book, and what I admire Colleen Hoover for doing, is making us fall in love with Ryle. We fell in love with Ryle just like Lily did. We were caught off guard just like Lily was. We wanted everything to be okay as much as Lily did. I know I said that I preferred Atlas and, I was kind of happy that I was right and she should have picked him (even if the circumstances were not at all happy), but I still liked Ryle. I still wanted him to be the funny, caring guy that he was towards Lily. And, that never changed. We just saw another side of him.

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen.”

The topic of domestic abuse is dealt with so well and it’s such an accurate portrayal. Of course, each case is different but generally, this is a pretty accurate portrayal.

I really loved the side characters. And, I felt tremendously happy with Alyssa after Lily told her about what was happening with Ryle. I, for sure, thought she was going to try and convince Lily to stick around and it just made me happy that she was thinking about Lily and Lily only, not about her brother.

While I really enjoyed this book, it was the plot mostly that got it the four stars. This book for me lost half a star because of it’s pacing. I really didn’t like it. I felt, at some moments, it was really choppy. But, because I liked the book so much, I could ignore it and that’s why I didn’t knock anything more off.

Another thing that I was kind of surprised by and that was a little bit of a let down was the variation of language. Don’t get me wrong, her metaphors, good words and comedic sentences were great but everyone said things. “I say”, “you say,” “he says”… I would have liked for a little more variation.

This was my first Colleen Hoover book, if I haven’t mentioned that already, and I am really happy that this was my first. It was such a rollercoaster experience reading this and I now have a really good impression and deeply admire Colleen Hoover.

I really liked this book and I’m so glad I was convinced to buy it. I was going to buy it at some point but I’m glad I got it when I did. There were so many highlightable (I know, not actually a word) things and the story was really enjoyable. It had great secondary characters, laugh out loud humour and was severely emotional but still great. From reading this book, I definitely want to check out more Colleen Hoover books and would definitely recommend this one.

(Also, little side note, I didn’t cry. I was pretty proud that I didn’t cry. I know a lot of people cried either during the book or while reading the A/N but I didn’t. I don’t know whether that’s a good or bad thing.)

(Side note #2: I think this song would fit really well if Lily’s Mom were singing it when Lily tells her mom about Ryle.)

Have you read the book? What did you think? I’d love to know.

Thanks for reading!

yeah

 

6 thoughts on “Book Chat: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

