It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

AboutthebookPublished: August 2 2016
Genre: contemporary romance
Age Category: New adult
Format: E-book
Source: Amazon- I bought it
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratinghalf star rating

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

Bookreview

This is my spoiler-free review of It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. If you have read this book already, you can click here to be taken to my spoiler-filled discussion.

Going into It Ends with Us, I didn’t know anything but what the blurb said. This was my first Colleen Hoover book and although I’d heard she was a master with twists, I still didn’t really know what to expect.

This book is told in the present but at the same time it’s like there was another story going on from the past. Lily was reading through her old journals and with that we got to learn a lot more about her past, Atlas and the kind of person she is.

I liked Lily as a character. She was kind, strong, selfless and caring. She was a good protagonist and thankfully, I didn’t have any major problems with her. When she first met Atlas, she was caring and selfless with him. She ignored what people said about him and helped him because that’s what he needed. He didn’t have anyone really, until she came into the picture.

Atlas, for a lot of the book, is a character we only see in Lily’s diary entries. We know that he was someone from her past and is soon going to enter back into the picture. I’m not exactly sure why but I really liked Atlas’s character. I liked the fact that, even though he wasn’t in the best state, people talked about him and he had no one, he still didn’t expect pity for anyone. Or, even ask for help. I’m not going to lie, it was getting pretty hard to get through the book when I knew that the diary entries were coming to the end and we weren’t going to see any more of Lily and Atlas’s past together. I really liked Atlas and wanted to see a lot more of him.

Thankfully, Atlas enters into the present. But, by this time, Ryle is already in the picture. Let me just tell you, I am completely team Atlas and was from the start. I really, really, liked Ryle but I just liked Atlas a lot more.

I was seriously surprised when the first “plot twist” hit. Like, so, so surprised. And, annoyed that I didn’t figure it out. But, I’m kind of glad I didn’t see it coming. I really didn’t know what the feel in that moment but I sure felt A LOT of things.

While I really enjoyed this book, it was the plot mostly that got it the four stars. This book for me lost half a star because of it’s pacing. I really didn’t like it. I felt, at some moments, it was really choppy. But, because I liked the book so much, I could ignore it and that’s why I didn’t knock anything more off.

Another thing that I was kind of surprised by and that was a little bit of a let down was the variation of language. Don’t get me wrong, her metaphors, good words and comedic sentences were great but everyone said things. “I say”, “you say,” “he says”… I would have liked for a little more variation.

If you’re planning on reading this book, please stay away from spoilery reviews. It will ruin all surprises! And, if you don’t plan on reading it, can I just ask why?? Seriously, you need to read this book.

The topic (which I’m not going to mention specifically) is dealt with so well and it’s such an accurate portrayal. Of course, each case is different but generally, this is a pretty accurate portrayal.

I really liked this book and I’m so glad I was convinced to buy it. I was going to buy it at some point but I’m glad I got it when I did. There were so many highlightable things and the story was really enjoyable. It had great secondary characters, laugh out loud humour and was severely emotional but still great. From reading this book, I definitely want to check out more Colleen Hoover books and would definitely recommend this one.

Thanks for reading!

yeah

14 thoughts on “It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    The only reason I don’t plan to read this book is because it’s not my genre. I’m just not a contemporary fan. Even this, one of the more interesting-sounding books, I just can’t convince myself to read. I guess I’ve grown dependent on fantasy and science fiction elements. Or even supernatural themes.
    I know I should vary myself more, that there’s more out there than this, but I guess I’m not good with character study books. I like the sound of the plot, and I would probably watch the movie, but for some reason these types of books don’t interest me.
    But…be that as it may…I am GLAD you liked it. I like to read your reviews and see that you liked a particular book, even if I don’t plan to read it. I have friends that just love romance novels, and I can’t read those either, but as long as you love it, I love it with you. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

