Sold to the Hitman by Alexis Abbott

29361425AboutthebookPublished: March 2016
Genre: Romance, suspense
Age Category: New Adult
Format: E-book
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratinghalf star rating

She’s terrified of me. She should be.

I’m no saint, but apparently even killers have limits. When the Bratva hired me as security for the night, I didn’t know it was a flesh trade. I could have kept my cool, done my job, but then I saw her. Pure as a lily, dressed in skimpy lingerie, and being auctioned off to the foulest men in Brighton Beach.

I’m not used to this white knight sh*t, but I did what I had to do. I outbid those pieces of trash and bought myself a bride.

What the hell do I do with a sweet, subservient woman who’s been trained to obey her husband? I can think of some things my baser instincts want me to do… But when she submits to me, I’m going to be the man that deserves it, not just the one she owes it to. So I’m going to make her life better. I’m going to make her want me just as bad as I want her.

And at night, when my new princess is slumbering, I’m going to make every one of those pimps pay in blood.

BookreviewFirst, I would like to say that I was seriously confused with Abbott’s books. There’s like four called “… Hitman” and so I thought they were a series. NO. These are stand-alone novels.

It wasn’t the blurb that got me to read this book. It was just the concept really. I love criminal books and this one was about the Bratva. To be honest, I prefer Italian mafia books. But, still, I was interested.

I began reading this story because the premise interested me. Not because of was looking for a work of literary genius.

This story was average. I enjoyed it and will forever (probably not) remember it to be the first work of fiction I read a of the Bratva, but nothing more.

The characters and plot line were enjoyable and it flowed well. It also was pretty easy to understand and was easy to fly through.

I didn’t really have any problems with it but it just wasn’t the best thing since sliced bread. 

The only thing I felt was really weird in her family was the influence of God. Not that I have a problem with that- I believe in God myself- but why would her family have done something like selling her? Is that not a sin? If God has such a huge influence then why does he not affect you decision to sell your eldest and only daughter? Just something that didn’t really add up.

I liked this and flew through it so quickly that I thought picking up another of Alexis Abbott’s Bratva/hit man romance books was the best idea.

Unfortunately, I did not enjoy Owned by the Hitman quite as much as I did this one and ended up DNFing it.

While I did enjoy this book, I don’t think this authors work is something I’d be willing to pay for. It’s just not something I’d like to read a lot of.

extrasB/N:

Blogger note if you’re not down with the slang. I lie. I’m not down either.

I would 1. like to apologise for this short review. To be honest, I read the book like two weeks ago and slowly forget everything that happened and 2. apologise for my absence. I’ve been getting back into my routine of getting up earlier (earlier enough to actually have breakfast before my classes), actually going to those classes and just being myself. It’s a lot of work, ya know.

But, hey, ya know. Just letting you know: there’s two giveaways coming up on the blog. You should definitely stick around for those!

Thanks for tolerating me reading!

yeah

^^^ Just because I’m feeling that great!

5 thoughts on “Sold to the Hitman by Alexis Abbott

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Hey, in the same boat over here…
    Had school and work back to back yesterday…I get home and I have like, 75 emails…that’s NOT counting the WordPress app that sometimes has responses that DON’T get sent to me!
    I’ll always stick with ya, girl! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      What grade do you teach? (It’s grade, right?) oh damn. Popular, aren’t you? My emails are always mostly WordPress and then there’s a couple of shops and random things like Pinterest. Haha thanks, back at ya 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA says:

        I don’t teach yet, but it will be high school. I can’t deal with the little ones.
        Oh. It’s not about popular…if someone posts, I always comment…but they also comment back…so it leads to a LOT of emails. I check here and the email to make sure I haven’t missed a comment, but I think every once in awhile I still miss one: it gets passed me somehow!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

