Cate’s Catch Up (Life Update)

catchup

Yes, I realise there’s a misspelling in the header image. Please ignore it and try pretend that English is not my first language.

So, I’ve realised that my online presence has been lacking since mid-August and I apologise for that. I just thought I’d write another catch up post just to fill you in on why I’ve been missing and I don’t know, a life update or something.

Also, I would like to apologise- and I don’t know if you’ve noticed- for Midnight Biblio blog looking like a new place to advertise. I thought that if I were to sign up for some book blitzes, I’d keep the blog going but they’re kind of coming on like spam and I don’t really like that. They’ve also been hard to keep scheduling because I barely have time to do other posts, never mind book blitz. That’s all that’s being uploaded too.

But anyway, onto the actual explanation.

August was an extremely busy month for me. I mentioned in a previous post- my July Wrap Up– that I had gotten a new job but something happened and I wasn’t able to work. But, in August, it sort of got figured out and I was able to work. (Pretty much, I was missing forms I needed and my employment didn’t tell me I needed them until I was about to start so I wasn’t able to work.)

I was working from 8am until 3:30 everyday and I was super wrecked. I’d come in from work, lying about for a little, eat dinner and then either watch Netflix or read. Mostly Netflix, I was even too drained to read. Then I went to bed.

Thankfully, I still got a couple of posts up during that time on my days off but this month I was handling it differently. I started back school and I’ve been getting A LOT of homework from teachers. I’ve just started back training again- if you didn’t know I play basketball in a league- and that’s taken up quick a bit of time too. So, basically, I’ve been swamped.

Image result for swamped gif

But, now I’m getting back into it. I’ve still got WAY too many posts to catch up on but hopefully this week won’t be as busy for me and I’ll get those up. Including my overdue August wrap up.

Image result for swamped gif

Awesomely- if only that were a word- I’ll be travelling to the US next summer to play with my team against other basketball teams. It’s a really good opportunity for the team and we’ll be over there for about two weeks. While playing basketball, I’ll also have the privilege of visiting a number of different places in the US- all  on the east coast though. I’ve been to New York and I’m so excited to be able to head back over.

In Ireland, if you didn’t know, you can’t drive until your 18. And I know that in America there’s 16 year old just driving around. I read enough YA to know that. But, I’d never actually thought about that when I go over. And we’re going to be staying with host families for quite a bit of the trip.

Our coach just mentions yesterday at training: “don’t be surprised if the 16 year old in the house invites you for ice cream or something and then picks up their keys and drives you there.”

That just seems so weird to me. I haven’t taken my test yet so I can’t drive but having someone younger than me just pick up their keys and drive me somewhere when I can’t even drive myself anywhere seems really weird now that it’s put into perspective.

All Americans that read my blog: you’re probably laughing at me but I just find it crazy, okay?

Image result for it's crazy gif

Well, I hoped this wasn’t too boring to read and that you liked my story at the end. It’s just over a month until I’m going to Italy too so that’s really exciting.

Thanks for reading!

yeah

16 thoughts on “Cate’s Catch Up (Life Update)

  1. onebookishgirl says:

    Good luck with basketball!!
    I think its weird that American’s can driver when they are 16 as well lol.
    In saying that, I live in Australia, over here the age limit and rules differ depending on what state you are in.
    In some states you can drive when you’re 17, you have speed restrictions though, and in others you have to be 18, but you don’t have speed restrictions.
    We’re a little bit confusing over here lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Thanks! Yeah, it’s crazy. I find that weird too. But, I guess, Australia is a LOT bigger than Ireland. In Ireland, we have one set of rules that everyone follows. But, Ireland is significantly smaller as I’ve said. From the southern-est (pretend that’s a word) point in Ireland to the northern-est (also pretend that’s a word) point in Ireland, it takes only about 5.5 hours. I read a book set in America a while I go and the girl was literally travelling from one state to another and it took her like 13 hours, if I recall correctly. It’s madness. That’s kind of weird, yeah. Here, you can learn to drive at 17 and have a learner’s licence (or you can drive a certain cc of motorbike). They’ve introduced this new thing now where for the first year or two (not exactly sure) you have to have a “N” plate on your car. It signals that you’ve passed but a still a “novice”.

      Liked by 1 person

      • onebookishgirl says:

        Haha, we are seriously confused over here. It would be so much easier just having one set of rules!
        I have always wanted to visit Ireland, never realised it was that small! Sounds lovely.
        America is huge!! It would take you forever to drive from one side to the other. I think it takes about 3 to 4 days to drive from one side of Australia to the other, its all through desert 😦 lol.

        We have P plates for probationary drivers, we have to have them up for 2 years

        Like

    • Cate says:

      Haha, thanks Lara. I would be too. I always say that I’m an un-sporty person who just likes sports. I love watching sports but not necessarily participating. I don’t think I’d even be playing basketball still had it not been for the fact that I’ve been playing for about ten years.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lara says:

        I totally get what you’re saying. I like only two sports, cycling and badminton but not competitive just for leisure, I can do those two for hours without getting tired, but I haven’t done either in many years.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cate says:

        (sorry it’s taken me so long to reply.) Haha, I’m glad. Mmh, I’ve never really been a big fan of cycling. But, it’s great exercise. It’s good you can keep them up for so long. You should get back into them if you enjoy them. Great to keep fit! 🙂

        Like

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    I think that they SHOULD be 18..,most of my car accidents happened when I was young. But when I was 16, I felt so mature and responsible. When you’re a teen, you always do…no matter if it’s true or not,
    Isn’t Ireland’s drinking age younger, though? We can’t drink until 21…I know some areas people can when they are 18, and that’s so weird for me, lol. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Um, yeah. I guess. Obviously I wouldn’t know but that’s completely understandable. You’re probably less cautious as a teen because you’re so excited to actually be out on the road.
      Yes, it’s 18. But, if you haven’t heard, Ireland is notorious for drinking and so most teens start drinking at like 15 to be honest. When you’re in third year (9th grade, I think), you take eleven state exams and on the last day there’s always a night out and that’s when most start drinking. Yeah, I can see how that’s weird. It wouldn’t really bother me because I don’t drink but it probably bothers a lot of people. In one way, I can understand it but on the other hand that’s not really going to stop teens who want to drink and also, with the younger driving age… I don’t really think that’s a good mix.

      Liked by 1 person

      • TeacherofYA says:

        That’s what I fear in the US. Kids at 16 are driving and heading to parties…and there’s usually alcohol. At least it’s illegal for them to drink…but I would prefer making our tens wait until 18 like other countries to at least drive. I mean, at 15 you get a permit, and you can drive with a licensed driver as a passenger.
        But it’s also not fair to allow an 18 year old to enlist but not be old enough to drink. It’s just really weird over here with the age ranges on restrictions.

        Like

Leave a Reply

