ARC Review: Junkie by Heather C. Leigh

Image result for junkie heather c. leigh

Aboutthebook

Published: 13 September 2016
Genre: dark romance
Age category: New Adult
Format: E-book
Source: ARC received in exchange for an honest review from the author and TSROR Promotions as part of the Broken Doll book tour
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratinghalf star rating

Book one in the Broken Doll series.

I’m a heroin addict. A junkie. A whore. I’ll do anything to get my next fix.

Anything.

Including walking right onto the property of Austin’s most ruthless and feared drug lord to beg for some H. I don’t know his name, only that people call him Boss. Oh, and that he won’t think twice to put a bullet in my head.

But like I said, I’ll do anything to get my next fix. Even if it costs me my life.

Or changes it forever.

BookreviewLet me just start by saying that this is part of  TRSOR Promotions book tour and you can click here to head over to an excerpt reveal which also includes additional info, amazon links etc.

On to the review…

In terms of this being a dark romance, this is everything you’d want. It’s got two flawed characters, each held back by their unfortunately sad past; a tense, love/I-should-hate romance; and a quick, progressive plot.

Miri has spent the past six months living with her sort-of boyfriend, Mason, and taking heroin that he has: 1. got her hooked on and 2. provided her with infinite doses. So, all in all, he’s not a very good person.

For me, the romance was pretty solid. And, if I were to rate this book out of five considering only the romance aspect, I’d probably give it a 4/4.5.

This book is only fifteen chapters long so it’s easy to fly through and, it’s a dark romance but, it’s not too dark. It’s kind of cutesy in a way. Please don’t think me strange for saying so but I always love the assholes. And, Boss didn’t treat Miri bad. He could just sometimes be a little harsh or an asshole.

I really liked to relationship between Miri and Boss. (Yes, we do find out his name but it’s hilarious so I’m going to let you find out yourself.) Although Boss technically had the ability and actually had ruined people’s lives, he still wanted to help Miri, despite his profession. Miri wanted to get to know Boss. She wanted to see whether he was a good person or not.

Both characters went through some character growth. I feel like Boss realised that emotions aren’t a weakness. He pushed Miri away so they wouldn’t get attached. And, Miri found the strength the want to want better for herself.

What I didn’t enjoy about this book was the pacing. I found it quite chopping in places. Or, something would almost happen and then the next scene is like two weeks later. That kind of annoyed me but it wasn’t a big deal.

In terms of the plot, it was pretty basic. The storyline didn’t have very much going on, but, as I said, it only had fifteen chapters. It was still enjoyable and was more about the characters than the plot.

This book ends of a cliffhanger, one, which, unfortunately for me, is cliché but I’m still interested to see where this goes.

If you’re wary about the drug abuse in this book- don’t be. It’s not a very prevalent thing. Sure, Miri is taking heroin but she’s been on it for quite some time that you wouldn’t really notice anything different with her from day to day.

Also, if you’re looking for a book to educate you on drug abuse- this is not it. I’ll say it again, the actual usage of drugs is minimal and it’s hard to see changes within the character. Also, this is obviously fiction. She’s living with a drug lord, for crying out loud.

But, it’s great. Or, maybe I’m just a psychopath for liking the bad guy. But, like, he wants to be good.

Heroes VS Villains? Who do you prefer?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

 

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Junkie by Heather C. Leigh

Leave a Reply

