Four Truths and a Lie with Jennifer Derrick

Today we’re going to play a game: Four truths and a lie. I’m going to tell you five things about myself. Four of them are true and one is complete fiction. This is just a fun way of helping you get to know me.

Skip down below the image to read the answers and explanations after you make your guesses.

  1. I ran a half-marathon on Saturday followed by a full marathon on Sunday, making a weekend total of 39.3 miles.
  2. I had the honor of meeting Darth Vader.
  3. Growing up, I wanted to be a doctor and performed surgery on all my stuffed animals.
  4. I studied at Oxford University.
  5. When I got the email confirming that Broken Fate was going to be published, I was cleaning toilets.

blogger

1. True. Yep, I was stupid enough to do that. Even stupider, I did it before ever completing a half or a full marathon on their own. Disney introduced something called the “Goofy Challenge” which is a half marathon on Saturday and a full on Sunday. Being a Disney nut and the sort of person who likes a ridiculous challenge, I had to do it. Twice. The fact that the second was followed by a lot of physical therapy isn’t something I dwell on.

2. True. No, I didn’t meet James Earl Jones, but I did get to meet the man who wore the Vader suit. His name is David Prowse and I met him when I was a kid, not long after the original Star Wars came out. He came by our mall and autographed pictures (and he wore the suit). I still have my picture, somewhere.

3. Lie. Unlike a lot of kids, I never entertained the idea of being3. a doctor. I don’t like ick and being a doctor is an ick-heavy profession. My stuffed animals were never my patients. I did want to be an astronaut, though, and even went to Space Camp a few times and started college as an aerospace engineering major before changing to something else later on.

4. True. I did a semester abroad at Oxford during college. Best experience of my life. I highly recommend that anyone who has the chance to study abroad do so. Side note: My professor gave everyone silly awards at the end of the term and mine was a mock Oscar for my portrayal of “The Invisible Woman.” Why? Because I spent so much time touring the country that I “forgot” to go to class a lot of the time. Still passed my classes, though.

5. True. You want your publishing story to be something glamorous, but mine totally wasn’t. When Clean Teen Publishing emailed to tell me that they were accepting my book and offering me a contract, I was cleaning the toilet. My phone was on the counter next to me and I checked it when it dinged, thinking it would be spam. Fortunately, I had a place handy to sit down because I was shocked by the news.

blogger

Did you get it? I for sure didn’t. I guessed that meeting Darth Vader was a lie because he’s fictional but oh well.

Thank you to Jennifer for taking the time out to answer these questions, I hope you enjoyed!

yeah

Leave a Reply

