ARC: Jagger by Heather C. Leigh

30349247AboutthebookPublished: Sept 2016
Age Category: New Adult
Genre: dark romance
Format: E-book
Source: TRSOR book tours
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book two in the Broken Doll series.
I have reviewed book one- Junkie- and you can find that review by clicking here. I strongly advise reading book one as Jagger is a continuation.

I sell drugs. Heroin to be specific. And I’m fucking good at my job. Enough to fight my way to the top position, controlling all of Austin’s supply.

So what if I had to kill the previous boss to do it. I do what has to be done. Never cared about consequences because I never had anything to lose.

Until I met Miri. My doll. She’s my weakness and somehow, my enemies found out about her.

If they hurt her, they will regret the day they ever heard my name. Boss. They call me Boss for a reason. What I say goes, including the price on the heads of anyone who dares to fuck with what belongs to me.

My Miri.

Bookreview

I didn’t intend on picking this book up immediately after book one- it’s not something I tend to do- but I really, really wanted to know what happened next. And, although I didn’t sign up, I asked to read and review book two.

I felt book two had a lot more of a plot than book one did, albeit a cliché plot. But, I still enjoyed it very much, quite a bit more than the first. It was action-packed, suspenseful and kept my attention throughout.

Junkie, as we know, ended in a cliff-hanger and Jagger continued from then. I liked the switch in narration, from Miri to Jag and back. I don’t think the book would have been as good had it only been in one POV. I appreciated it a lot more in Jagger.

To me, it felt even darker than the first book.  There was a lot of violence and bloodshed in this book. More than the first indeed. We saw El Cuchillo a lot more in this book, and I can tell you he is a nasty asshole. Raoul, his Milo, if you will, was also quite present in this book. We also got to meet Brick, another drug lord we’d heard of previously from a different district.

We also get a lot more insight into Jag and how he got into the business of drug lording (Pretend that makes sense). I liked being inside his mind, even if half the time he was crude and thought with his dick.

As much as I enjoyed this, I have to take a star away because of the predictability. While this book held suspense, it still had a lot of overused tropes, none of which I will mention because this is obviously a spoiler-free review.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading this book. If you’re into dark romances and don’t mind clichés, you should definitely check it out.

Abouttheauthor

 Heather  C. LeighHeather C. Leigh is the author of the Amazon best selling Famous series. She likes to write about the ‘dark’ side of fame. The part that the public doesn’t get to see, how difficult it is to live in a fishbowl and how that affects relationships.

Heather was born and raised in New England and currently lives outside Atlanta, GA with her husband, 2 kids, and French Bulldog, Shelby.

She loves the Red Sox, the Patriots, and anything chocolate (but not white chocolate, everyone knows it’s not real chocolate so it doesn’t count) and has left explicit instructions in her will to have her ashes snuck into Fenway Park and sneakily sprinkled all over while her family enjoys beer, hot dogs, and a wicked good time.

My favorite authors are Dan Wells, Ken Follett, and Stephen King.

Happy reading!

Stalk Heather on
Facebook / Twitter / TSU / Instagram

 

3 thoughts on “ARC: Jagger by Heather C. Leigh

Leave a Reply

