Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

 

 

24638201AboutthebookPublished: February 2016
Age Category: Young Adult
Genre: Romantic suspense
Format: Paperback/Audiobook
Source: Bought it/library
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Book One in the Blood for Blood Saga.

When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication. With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

Bookreview

(Quite incomprehensive. beware.)

This is more of a mini review. You see, before this book released, I was extremely excited for it. And, when it finally did release, I picked it up almost immediately. You see I like books about criminals. Especially books about the mafia. I find it so fascinating and I love, love, love reading about it. So, this book was definitely high up there on my TBR and I was expecting a lot from the reviews I had read. Some of those reviews included a “shocking plot twist” that I was eagerly awaiting. Unfortunately, I was expecting this plot twist. And, so stupidly, I stopped reading this book. Then, what got me back into reading this book was the fact that I read some reviews of Inferno- book two- and had no idea what the hell had happened between the last ten chapters of Vendetta and Inferno.

So, here we are now, after finishing this book. SIGH.

Took me long enough.

SIGH.

I really enjoyed reading this book last year. I enjoyed everything about it from the characters to the plot to the Italian that was creeping in. I really loved this book. And, I didn’t even get to much mafia related drama. (That is not a spoiler, it’s a mafia romance.)

Okay, so, this review is really more fan-girling over this book. And, I know that this book is about Sophie and Nic but, like, Luca. Oh my God, I seriously love him. I mean, he’s not the nicest characters around but I seriously have a problem when it comes to assholes. I’m not saying Luca’s an asshole but he could have been nicer. Okay? Okay.

When I got back around to reading this, I was listening to the audiobook. I was just in the library and I happened to find it there so I though why not? It made the experience so much better and I definitely recommend it. The author- Laurence Bouvard- was so emotive and somehow had a different voice for every character. She really managed to differentiate by voice each character, even if it was only a slight change.

I like fact that this book was sectioned into big parts and that there were quotes. There were also a couple of things characters in it said that were highlightable. For example:

“Imagine if we had no secrets, no respite from the truth. What if everything was laid bare the moment we introduced ourselves?”  

What annoyed me about this book- as in the physical book itself- is the font. I really don’t like the font. But, whatever. The cover isn’t exactly the nicest thing to grace this earth- although, I can appreciate a good looking dude on the front- but I like the fact that they match.

I can’t really pin-point it, but for some reason this book doesn’t earn five stars in my mind. I don’t know why.

To sum this train wreck of a review up, I think you should all go out and buy this book because I like learning about the mafia and you should to. BOOM. Life is complete.

READ IT.

yeah

One thought on “Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

Leave a Reply

