ARC: See No Evil by Jordan Ford

32308922AboutthebookPublished: October 28 2016
Age Category: Young Adult
Genre: Romantic suspense
Format: E-book (ARC)
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratinghalf star rating

Book One in the Brotherhood series.

All Christiana wanted was a little flirty fun.
What she got was a one-way ticket to her own personal nightmare.

Her friend is dead…and she knows who did it. Now a key witness in a murder trial, she’s been hidden away in the one place no one will think to look for her: Eton Preparatory School for Boys.

It’s a stupid move. Insane. But she doesn’t have a choice.
Instead of completing her senior year with the popular crowd, she’s being forced to hide in a school with exactly zero XX chromosomes. Even worse, she’s somehow supposed to act like the Neanderthals walking the halls.

But then she meets the guys next door—the smoking-hot ones. And it doesn’t help that one in particular could unravel her in a heartbeat… and potentially blow her cover. How’s she supposed to resist Trey Calloway, the star hockey player who never backs down from a fight…and who never takes no for an answer?

She’s supposed to be focused on staying safe, not on the guy who’s getting under her skin. Her chilling past isn’t going to suddenly disappear.
In fact, it might just be catching up with her.  

BookreviewMy boys. Oh, I loved these characters.

I didn’t know what to expect from this book. To be completely honest, the plot wasn’t what got me to read this book- I mean, besides getting it as an ARC- but the fact I’ve never disliked anything this author has wrote under both names.

The only expectation I had with this book was that I was hoping it was good. And, it was. Just, not as good. I liked the idea of her hiding out in a boys school but I think the problem I had with it was the pacing. I wasn’t really sure exactly how long Ana was there. One minute, I felt like she’d just arrived and the next I was 50% through.

The book was fast paced and enjoyable but I wish there was more. I would have liked to get to know the characters more and actually see Ana and Trey get to know each other more. I think, there wasn’t enough “Trana”? “Arey”? “Antrey”? (Ship name?!) time. In saying that, there’s not exactly much they could have done together. There were in a prison-like school.

Now, as for side characters. My boys. Awe. For me, there were the best thing about this book. I LOVED them. Riley and Kade. And, apologies to Kade but I loved Riley a lot more. Can I just have him? Please? Please?

I loved the dynamic of the three boys together. They’d made a family out of the three of them and I thought that was so cute. Kade was the funny, carefree friend. Riley was the quiet, attentive, just ughhhh guy. I’m sorry, I really don’t have words. I just really loved these two boys and I cannot wait for Riley’s book. I really liked the fact that the three boys would do anything for each other.

(I never use gifs in my reviews but…) RILEY ❤  (Oh my god, if his love interest was called Cate)

Image result for in love gif

There is another thing I would like to briefly mention that I found hilarious. (And, if you ask any of my friends, especially one in particular who I gush and rant about books too, you’ll know how funny I found this because they understand how funny I thought it was.)

Trey was having this internal conflict because of how much he was affected by Ana- as Chris the boy. I found it so funny by how conflicted he was feeling. It was like he wanted to let himself like her (as him) but didn’t think he was gay so wanted to ignore it. It was like a “I’m okay with people being gay just not myself” situation.

Another thing, which is kind of related to the plot pacing point up above is that I think some things in the book could have been fleshed out a little better. I would have really liked to find out more about Ana’s previous life- the one she left behind- and also a little more of Trey’s background. I think, with more info on Ana’s past, I would have liked the ending a little more.

To sum it up, the characters are what gave this book 3.5 stars for me. I really loved the characters but didn’t enjoy the plot as much. I just think it was missing something to make it a 4/5 star read for me. But, in saying that, I will most definitely continue the series.

Another short thing I’d like to mentioned and, it in no way effects the rating of my review, is the cover. I think it looks like an NA book and let me tell you, it’s not. So, if you find yourself being deterred from reading this, don’t. It’s clean. And, hey, it matches the Big Play novels (sorta).

Other books by this author I have reviewed: Shoot the Gap (Big Play, #4); Fever (Songbird, #1); Geronimo (Songbird, #8) (Songbird books as Melissa Pearl)

Abouttheauthor

Jordan Ford is a young adult romance author.

“Writing high school romances brings me the greatest joy. My heart bubbles, my insides zing, and I am at my happiest when immersed in a great scene with characters who have become real to me.”

Her first series, The Big Game Novels is based on a high school football team in the fictional town of Nelson, Idaho. The first book, The Playmaker, comes out March 22nd, 2016.

“I can’t wait to share this series with people. I’ve totally fallen in love with this team and the girls that win their hearts.”

 Goodreads

7 thoughts on “ARC: See No Evil by Jordan Ford

Leave a Reply

