October Wrap Up (+ Italy Trip)

october-wrap-up

So, as most of you know, I was going to both Dept Con- a book convention- and Italy during October so I didn’t really get to read much. I was super busy with work and school during October also. This wrap up will be a little longer than usual because I will be including my Italy trip. I’ll have another post soon about DeptCon.

Books I read this month

 

I only read four books this month but at least I read something!

1. Vendetta by Catherine Doyle // 4/5 stars // romance/suspense following a girl who meets a set of mysterious brothers // I originally started this back when it was released, put it down because I thought I had it all figured out and finally picked it back up again because I was meeting the author. I finished the book listening to the audio and it was great. Highly recommend // My review

2. Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey // 4/5 stars // Funny romance following a guy and a girl and a secret relationship. // I’d been hearing a lot about this author, mainly from one of my favourite booktubers- The Reading Wallflower- and when I saw someone wanted to buddy read this one I decided to pick it up // My review (will be up soon)

collage-oc

3. Confessions of a Queen B* by Crista McHugh // 4.75/5 // Hilarious romance of a bitchy girl through high school and the popular boy. // I saw a review over on another blog and saw it was free so decided to pick it up. Such a great decision. // My review

4. See No Evil by Jordan Ford // 3.5/5 stars // Romantic suspense of a girl, witness to a murder, hiding out in an all-boys boarding school. // I found my new book boyfriend 😉 Oh, Riley ❤ // My review

Technically, I only finished three full books but whatever.

other posts this month

 

italy-trip

 

 This is the part I was most excited to share. I went to Italy for the first time on the 28th. It was probably one of the best trips I’ve ever taken, if not the best. I really, REALLY enjoyed my time there and really didn’t want to leave. It was better than I could have imagined. I really hope I get another opportunity to re-visit, if not like there.

Day One:  

  • I flew into Naples and took a bus from the airport to Pompeii
  • I had lunch there before getting a tour (and getting lost) in Pompeii

Fun fact (that actually really annoys me): In Italy, they spell Pompeii with one “I” => “Pompei”. So, why do we spell it with two “I”s?

image1I’m such a tourist! This is the first pizza I had in Italy (yes, I ate more than one there- I love pizza) and I had this in Pompeii. It was so cheap- €5 for pizza and a drink. Most of us didn’t even finish our food. It was so filling.

After eating this wonderful pizza, we went into Pompeii and had this really nice tour guide. Pompeii was amazing and surprisingly big. It was amazing how well-kept it was.

collageitaly

(Sorry they’re a little fuzzy. That’s the photo editor.)

This is Pompeii. The top picture is of the outside of the amphitheatre. The one to the right of it is ruins of a house. Underneath that is the mosaic ceiling in the baths. And bottom left is ruins from the forum (I think. Haha, I can’t really remember.)

While I could tell you the story of getting lost in Pompeii, I’ll tell a shorter, more interesting story.

So, in Pompeii they had brothels. And, when you go in, it’s just a narrow hallway with rooms on either side. The rooms were complete stone and there was an area (imagine a counter in your kitchen) which was used as the bed. The rooms didn’t have any doors so you’d be able to see people across the hall. And, above each doorway there were pictures (which are still there) of what services the prostitutes offered. The hookers would call the customers by going “ooh, ooh…” And the customer would follow the noise and look above the door to see what service they were getting. Now, imagine, you go in and you can see exactly what’s happening across from you with another couple. And, hear the noises of everyone else in the whole building. Eww.

After leaving Pompeii, we took the bus to Sorrento. Our hotel was pretty basic (with awful food) so I didn’t bother taking any pictures there. The hotel had a set menu (which I didn’t eat) so, I asked for plain penne pasta and they made such a big deal about it. I ended up getting plain pasta and a bowl of tomato sauce. Safe to say, the weird tomato sauce was left alone. We took a walk after dinner down to the marina and it was beautiful.

image9

Day Two:

We got up early and took a really long bus trip along the Amalfi Coast. I kind of get travel sick and so that wasn’t very good. Thankfully, I didn’t feel sick until we were near the end of the bus ride. We stopped off in Positano and it was beautiful. This was the view from just outside the town.

image10

We stopped off in Amalfi also. It was probably the best place we visited. I really liked it there.

After that, we stopped off at this restaurant really close to Mount Vesuvius. We climbed the volcano afterward. It was very disappointing. I expected so much more. The following picture is of the crater. I don’t know what I was expecting but something better than a ditch.

image12My friend had on these sunglasses that were tinted orange. I took a really nice photo (if I do say so myself) of the view through them.

image13

After Mount Vesuvius we just continued on to our second hotel in Fiuggi. That hotel was more like a hostel but it didn’t matter. We weren’t spending much time there.

Day Three:

After breakfast, me and another friend were sitting in the bedroom just after finish packing. We had another two girls out on the balcony. And, we were sitting there and the next minute, I felt the bed begin to shake. I’m not going to lie- even though I sound idiotic- I thought somebody was banging on the wall. But, then I noticed everything was shaking. The girls from the balcony ran inside and were shouting “earthquake”. Now, if you didn’t know, in Ireland, we don’t get earthquakes, thankfully. So, we had no idea what to do. The girl that was in the room with me was sitting under a TV propped up and a stand hanging out of the wall. I was like “crap, move away from that.”

Another girl who had ran in from the balcony (probably the most rational of all) was shouting instructions like “get under the bed”, “stand under the doorway”. It didn’t last that long but it was quite the scary experience.

When it was over, we went to Rome. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to spend much time there. But, I saw the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, the parliament, Roman Forum and had a shop around the city. (Well, I went to Sephora and then got lunch.)

collageitaly2

Here are some pictures from the coliseum. The top two are views from the top. I have no idea what that arc thing is. The bottom right is the view from the like second level of the underground where they would have kept the animals and gladiators. The left corner is from the outside obviously. We also got a tour guide for the coliseum.

image18Here is the Trevi, a really beautifully sculpted fountain. Yes, I did throw a coin in (but I forgot to make a wish. I’m an idiot). And, finally, yes, I am including a picture of myself. And yes, I do look like a twelve year old. This is in front of the Trevi Fountain.

Displaying IMG_0812.JPG

So, there ya go. After spending the day in the city, we went to a shopping centre and I swear we were the whitest people there. There were no other tourists. We didn’t spend long there but I went into Kiko- a shop I have never been too prior to this trip but would live there- and bought a ton of unbelievably priced makeup and also got some gelato. I’m not usually an ice-cream fan but it was my last opportunity so I thought why not? It was DELICIOUS.

We went to the airport then and it was a hectic mess which I would not like to relieve. So, I’ll just tell you that we delayed our flight by nearly an hour and then some people almost missed it. But, I got home safely so it’s all good.

To sum it up, I really enjoyed this trip. Everything about Italy is beautiful. I enjoyed the trip so much and I better be back. If you ever get the opportunity to go, do it! It’s fab!

So, that’s my monthly wrap up. How did your month go?

 Thanks for reading!

yeah

14 thoughts on “October Wrap Up (+ Italy Trip)

  1. Jazz says:

    I’m so pleased you had a good time in Italy! I stayed in Amalfi a few years ago and loved it. I went to Pompeii and climbed Mount Vesuvius too. I know what you mean about the top of it. It’s just a hole with a few wisps of smoke 😛 How did you manage to descent? Did you fall down like I did? The ash really isn’t conducive to successful volcano climbing haha

    In Pompeii, did you see the ‘directions’ to the brothels? The, erm, bits of male anatomy carved faintly into the ground and pointing towards the building? Our tour guide was so excited to point them out 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Thanks! Nice to know you liked it too. Yeah. I knew it was unlikely but I was expected even a bit of an orange tinge in the ground. Hahah, sorry you fell. Luckily, I didn’t. There were a few people around me that did but for the most part it was okay. No it isn’t. And, I was expecting more of a trek up the side of a volcano than a walk up a hill.

      Hahah, oh my god!! Yes!! Mine too!! She found it hilarious. And she was mispronouncing it in English too so we really had no idea what we were looking for. She was saying the first part of the word like a “pen” that you write with. So we couldn’t understand but then we got it haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

