The Blogger Recognition Award

bloggerrecognition

Thank you  Jasmine @ How Useful It Is, Lara @ The Heathen  and Cathy @Cathy Rambles for nominating me for this award! You should definitely go check out their blogs if you haven’t already! They both post great content. (Another post I wrote ages ago and for some reason didn’t post.)

The Rules:

1.Write a post to show your award
2.Give a brief story of how your blog started
3.Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
4.Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
5.Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

How Midnight Biblio started:

I’ve explained to shortened version of this before but now here’s the lengthened version.

In the beginning, I wanted to start a youtube channel but I was 1. too afraid people I know would see me and 2. I didn’t (and still don’t) have a good camera. I’d been reading a couple of book blogs and I knew my friends were getting sick of talking so much about books so I decided to try out blogging.

And, I failed. I didn’t know how to post constantly, I really had no idea how wordpress worked and besides reviews, I didn’t know what else to post. And, I had literally no idea how to get people to read my blog and make friends.

I thought that if I had a blog or a youtube channel, I could makes some friends and it may be a little easier in real life. Making friends is a lot easier when you’re hidden behind a computer screen. And, anxiety doesn’t get in the way as much.

I gave up then and that was the end of that blog. That was around October 2014. I tried again, on the same blog at the end of the year with a “December Wrap Up” and “January Haul” or something along those lines and after those two posts. I gave up again. I wasn’t getting anywhere. And, I wasn’t feeling well either.

I’m not going to lie, 2015 was probably my worst year ever in terms of my mental health. I just gave up on pretty much everything I enjoyed doing. I had tunnel vision with one thing in mind and I knew that I needed help. So, I spent months trying to get back in touch with myself.

After months and months of feeling like a worthless piece of crap, I needed to focus my attention on something else. And, as much as I wanted it to be finishing my novel, I wasn’t ready for that again, so, I decided to get back to blogging. For real this time. I’d been reading so many more blogs and knew so much better what to do. And, from their, Midnight Biblio flourished.

I’m proud with how far I’ve come with both myself and my blog.

Advice for New Bloggers:

1. You don’t need to post every single day. When I started blogging, I felt like the only way people were going to read my blog is if I posted consistently. I had post for Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and the weekends were for discussions or reviews. My only day off was Wednesday which was the day I spent writing most of my posts. It became so repetitive and almost boring. I was burnt out. So, posting even just once a week, especially when you’re just getting started is great.

2. Try to make friends. I know it’s hard, seriously, I know but it makes your blogging experience so much better. Comment on peoples posts, follow bloggers with like interests and just be kind. Also, ask questions at the ends of your posts to spark discussion.

I know that’s technically more than two tips but they’re like sub-tips. 🙂

My Nominations:

 Nope, too many posts to do! Sorry not sorry.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Jasmine says:

    Fantastic advices! And I am still trying to push the pressure off from posting everyday. It’s good to take a day off and visit other bloggers and make friends like you said. Yeah, I don’t think of doing Youtube either, mainly because I’m shy on camera.. haha..

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cate says:

      Thanks Jasmine. I really appreciate it. I really like visiting other blogs too, it really helps to also make friends. My experience has been so much better because I’ve made friends. It’s one of the best things that blogging. I know, right? If only we were super arrogant.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana Prince Reviews says:

    I’m really proud of you for coming back to the blog, and working so hard to make it thrive like it has been. You’re a truly fantastic blogger, and I love seeing all your posts (and comments on my own – many thanks, always!)

    I had a rough patch this summer with my mental health, and I am so, so thankful for all of my friends on here and IRL who inspired me to keep going and come back to writing after taking some time off. I still get writer’s block every once in a while, but coming to terms with the fact that I don’t have to post all the time helped a lot. I hope other people read your advice and resonate with it like me 🙂 congrats for this award, you’ve earned it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Thank you so much, I really appreciate this kind and beautiful comment.

      I’m sorry to hear that but it’s good you also found your way back and had the support. I understand that it’s hard when you don’t have support and it’s just great you did. Yes, we really put all of this pressure on ourselves, don’t we? But, what for? There’s really no reason because even if you don’t post for a week, or even a month, your blog hasn’t changed, your friends are still there and you still have the support. That’s why I love blogging. Thank you, I really mean that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LizScanlon says:

    I’m glad you put your foot down on yourself this time around and got stuck to your blog 🙂 I, and I’m sure many others, are glad to have you with us here 🙂
    One thing I always tell myself is.. yes, book blogging can be soooo time consuming and thus become stressful but I just always tell myself that I need to chill it and go with the flow and do when I can, as much as I can and that won’t take the fun element out of it.

    So on that note, I LOVE your advice and I agree 🙂

    Happy blogging/reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cate says:

      Thanks so much! It’s really nice to know that. That’s a good mantra. Sometimes I’m just like “this isn’t worth it” but immediately, I know that even that thought was a mistake. Yes, it’s time-consuming, yes, sometimes you may feel like it’s not worth it but, when you make friends and get responses like this one (thanks :)), you know it’s worth it.

      Once again, thank you! Happy blogging to you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

