Prude by Jordan S. Gray

32035169

Aboutthebook

Published: September 2016
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Category: New Adult
Format: E-book
Source: Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest opinion
Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Rebecca Washington is a girl in control. Well, at least when it comes to acing her college classes. The rest of the time, she seems to be at the mercy of everyone else. Like when she’s dumped in front of her peers, hit on right afterwards by a jerk for some stupid bet, and then paired up with the same jerk for a lit project.

In order to maintain her perfect GPA, Rebecca will need to give a stellar presentation while ignoring the prodding eyes that will be staring at her. When her partner, Derek, starts to ease her fears of public speaking with his laid back attitude, she’s forced to confront her new feelings about him and his charming smile. Rebecca knows falling for a guy who teases her for being a prudish nerd can only end badly, but what if it’s just another thing out of her control?  

BookreviewI really enjoyed reading this book. I’m glad I requested it to review. As you know from reading the description above, Rebecca gets dumped by her boyfriend in front of a huge crowd and is immediately hit on afterwards.

Now, usually, I like the asshole. It’s a curse. But, it’s okay because they always turn out nice in the end. (Ignore my warped logic.) But, Derek, well… I wanted to punch him. He started off really nice and then I immediately hated him. I was like crap, this isn’t a good start. So much so I wanted to punch him.

But, like all assholish characters, I ended up liking him just like Rebecca did. He still kind of kept his assholish, teasing traits but could also be kind and make me like him. The only thing that bothered me is we only really learned surface facts about him. What I mean by that is: we found out he had a brother, his brother’s name, where he was from, what he was majoring etc. We never really got to understand why he was the way he was, why he didn’t really talk about his family. At some point we did kind of learn the main facts but that really wasn’t enough.

So, while I grew to like Derek, I grew to almost dislike Rebecca. Sometimes she was just really annoying. Like, shut up already annoying. And, I don’t think the reader should ever want to shut the main character up. (Unless of course it’s a really gorgeous main character that you wish you could shut up with your lips. Then, go ahead.)

Side note: there were only really a few guys in this book and pretty much all but one were dicks but one: the president of Phi Omega- Derek’s frat- Damion. Him, I sure wanted to know. He was really nice. And, out of both boys and girls, he was the best character.

“Rebecca Washington, what could you possibly be doing here?” Derek asked, a smirk on his face that, for once, she didn’t mind.

“I am a huge fan of parties,” Rebecca state, gesturing around her. “You get a large group of young, drunken idiots together and I’m there.”

I sometimes didn’t like the best friends, Ansley and Shayler,  either. We didn’t really get to know either of them and I think that was because they’re getting their own books. Sure, again, we find out surface facts, but nothing major. Ansley, she was very mysterious. Sometimes, they’d be talking and she’d abruptly get up and walk away without an explanation. It was strange. And, I think it was just so we’d wait to read her book and find out what’s up with her.

Lastly, I’d like to briefly mention the ending. To me, it sucked. I felt it was really rushed and not thought out well. That frustrated me very much especially seen as I was so invested in the characters. I think that’s mainly why I couldn’t give it five stars.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book even if it had a few flaws. I would definitely recommend it if you like quick, college romances. Just, beware of the ending. And Derek’s assholery.

PS. Not to offend any Rebecca’s who may or may read this review but I’d like to mention something sort of funny that really has nothing to do with this story: I don’t know any Rebecca’s that aren’t annoying. And, this one was annoying two. I know four Rebecca’s in real life and they’re all equally annoying but in different ways. It’s funny that I know so many and none of them are actually great characters. Apologies if I offended anyone.

Leave a Reply

