Draw Play by Tia Lewis

draw-playJake:
I can’t believe my coach assigned me a tutor. I’m all that on the field and between the sheets — who cares about my stupid grades?

But Claire doesn’t treat me like I’m dumb. When we’re not busy fighting, she actually encourages me. And with those sexy curves of hers, I know just how to thank her.

Claire:
I hate football players, but I need the money. Jake is just as cocky and arrogant as the worst of them … but his touch sets me on fire.

I have to believe he’s different, that he won’t use me and break my heart. Because I can’t stop wanting him. I just hope I survive the ride.

Bookreview

Funnily enough, I saw this book on Netgalley and, when I went to request, it was no longer available. Then, less than a week later, I see it on Amazon for free. So, I grabbed it, thinking I’d love it. I wanted to, but I just didn’t.

And, while I was on a sort of football-romance binge, I picked this up. It disappointed me… so much. None of the football romance books I read were stellar but this had to be the worse, unfortunately.

This review is going to be short. I love to talk but really, I don’t have much to say about this book.

The major problem with this book was the crappy attitudes of the characters. They were so judgemental, so pass-remarkable. It was so awfully annoying that I almost DNF’d the book. I NEVER DNF a romance books. Especially not a sports-romance book. I do love those. It was hard to like and sympathise with this characters when they were just so disgusting.

It was dual-POV and in one of Claire’s parts she thought: “What was he trying to do? Butter me up so I wouldn’t give his coach a negative report? I would have bet anything. Telling me his sob story about how he wasn’t allowed to read when he was a kid.”

And, Claire really thought something of herself. She had some mysterious reason as to why she did not like football players and, yeah, I sort of felt bad for her but the asshole that had hurt her just happened to be a football player. It wasn’t because he was a football player that made him decide to hurt her. She thought that all football players were assholes and they all wanted to do the exact same thing to her as the first asshole did.

Jake: “It [the cashier’s smile] matched her oversized body.”

The worst person in this book was one of Claire’s friends. He was bitter towards football players because his Dad wanted him to be one but he didn’t himself. Now, I understand that he was made an asshole for a reason. What I didn’t understand was the reason why Claire was friends with him. That didn’t make sense at all.

For example, here’s something he said to their group: “They’re only eating all that food so they’ll have the energy to rape a girl later.” Now, they did call him out on it but still, this was his usual attitude.

They all really just needed to get their heads out of their asses. Sure, some of the football players were idiots but they were ignorant idiots. All of Claire’s friends were smart and pricks on purpose. (Well, not all of her friends.)

These characters were also so stereotypical. They were both so unoriginal. Claire wore baggy clothes that “didn’t accentuate any of her curve”, had brown mousy hair (I don’t even know what that means), wore glasses, studied all of the time, got straight-As, didn’t party… And Jake. He was a tall, muscular football player with a bad past and above all, he was an arrogant, self-righteous prick. I appreciate originality. Claire even had a stereotypical short best friend.

Thinking back on it now, I have no idea why I originally gave this 2.75/5. I’m a sucker for romance but even I have my limit. There have been 3 star reads so much better than this. This sucked balls. (I apologise for how explicit it seems my language has turned. Would you believe me if I said I didn’t curse?)

Even though I disliked the characters, I wanted to see where to romance was going. I shouldn’t have wasted my time. I’m glad it was free.

                                               star ratingstar ratinghalf star rating

buyback

                                                amazon-usamazonuk

youmightalsolike

ARC: Going Under by Lexi Ryan sports romance

3 thoughts on “Draw Play by Tia Lewis

Leave a Reply

