Valentine’s Special: Top 6 New Adult Romances!

 

NA recs.jpg

If you haven’t seen my post that came out about an hour ago, I recommended some YA romances. This time, I’m recommending some New Adult romances. They vary quite a bit in maturity/fluffiness etc. Enjoy!

Fever by Melissa Pearl

22545700

Singing in the shower takes on a whole new meaning in Melissa Pearl’s first New Adult Contemporary Romance.

Ella Simmons does not want to move across the country. But she is, because her boyfriend has persuaded her to join him at UChicago to finish out her college education. Never able to tell him no, she hops on a plane and makes the trek from LA expecting to adjust to life like she’s often forced to, but things are not that simple when she hears a luscious voice singing over her shower wall. His deep, sexy tenor makes her weak in the knees, spreading fire through her limbs and making her question everything about her life and relationship.

Can one voice really have that much of an impact?

Cole Reynolds is on his way out. In his final year at UChicago, the only thing he wants to do is finish school and get on with his life. But the sweet voice that interrupts his morning shower turns his world upside down. Compelled to find his shower songbird, he begins a search across campus. The only thing to distract him from this goal is his roommate’s gorgeous girlfriend who’s just arrived from LA – Ella Simmons.

Relationships are put to the ultimate test as future dreams are questioned and friendships are thrown on the line for love.

I read this book last summer and really enjoyed it. Technically one of the books on the lighter side- meaning both on the emotional and sexual lighter side- than a couple of other books recommended here but still a great read. (Is part of a series but each book can be read as a standalone.) I have a review for this book: here.

Three Years Later by Casey McMillin

17854164The last thing Rachel Coleman wanted to do the summer before her senior year was go on a family vacation to Disneyland. The first thing she did when she got there, however, was run headlong into her happily ever after. Unfortunately for her, the guy was way out of her league.

Collin Blake, along with the rest of his college swim team, was just visiting Los Angeles for a few days. It was something the U Cal swimmers did every year. Falling in love definitely wasn’t on his list things to do while he was there.

Is love at first sight even possible?
Collin and Rachel thought so. They had an instant connection… right up to the point when Rachel disappeared.

Can they pick up where they left off even though it’s… Three Years Later

Really enjoyed this book when I read it… about three years ago. The book really made me want to find myself a swimmer (Ironically, I can’t really swim myself haha). This book does follow older characters, as Colin is in college three years ago but they’re not that old. But, definitely, if you like swimmers and romance, check this out! (Also a standalone in a companion series.)

Junkie by Heather C. Leigh

I’m a heroin addict. A junkie. A whore. I’ll do anything to get my next fix.31701205

Anything.

Including walking right onto the property of Austin’s most ruthless and feared drug lord to beg for some H. I don’t know his name, only that people call him Boss. Oh, and that he won’t think twice to put a bullet in my head.

But like I said, I’ll do anything to get my next fix. Even if it costs me my life.

Or changes it forever.

On the flip side of these recommendations, we have this book. I read this late last year and really enjoyed it. If you couldn’t tell from the title, this isn’t you’re everyday romance but, if you’re looking for something a little darker, definitely check this one out. I have a review too here and also of the second book Jagger.

Girl With Guitar by Caisey Quinn

17774609After Kylie’s dad dies in a freak accident, he leaves her with nothing other than her crazy step-mother, Darla, and the ability to play guitar. When Darla kicks Kylie out and she loses her job all in the same day, she hops a bus to Nashville determined to make her late father’s dreams come true. Waitressing and saving her pennies to record a demo, her big break comes when she’s asked to join a tour going down the tubes with once platinum album-selling country music superstar Trace Corbin. But touring with Trace is hardly a dream come true since he’s pretty much drinking his career down the drain. If Kylie can’t pull Trace out of his rut, he’ll pull her and her dreams down with him.

Also read last year, this book is another I really enjoyed. I’m not gonna lie, I’m a big country music fan and this was definitely right up my alley. This book I would say is more of an in-betweener. It’s not dark like Junkie but it does have it’s darker moments. Caisey Quinn quickly became a must-have author of mine after this. {Following two books: Girl on Tour and Girl in Love.}

Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey

21843117

With Olympic tryouts on the horizon, the last thing nineteen-year-old Kinsley Bryant needs to add to her plate is Liam Wilder. He’s a professional soccer player, America’s favorite bad-boy, and has all the qualities of a skilled panty-dropper.

• A face that makes girls weep – check.
• Abs that can shred Parmesan cheese (the expensive kind) – check.
• Enough confidence to shift the earth’s gravitational pull – double check.

Not to mention Liam is strictly off limits . Forbidden. Her coaches have made that perfectly clear. (i.e. “Score with Coach Wilder anywhere other than the field and you’ll be cut from the team faster than you can count his tattoos.”) But that just makes him all the more enticing…Besides, Kinsley’s already counted the visible ones, and she is not one to leave a project unfinished.

Kinsley tries to play the game her way as they navigate through forbidden territory, but Liam is determined to teach her a whole new definition for the term “team bonding.”

R.S. Grey was on my radar for so long until I finally decided to pick this up. So glad I did. I was funny and fast-paced. Never a dull moments. This is definitely one you should read. I will mention though, it is on the heavier side in terms of sex. But, it’s still fab. I also have a review if you would like to check it out and read more of my thoughts- review.

Finally, Vicious by L.J. Shen

30839185Emilia

They say love and hate are the same feelings experienced under different circumstances, and it’s true.
The man who comes to me in my dreams also haunts me in my nightmares.
He is a brilliant lawyer.
A skilled criminal.
A beautiful liar.
A bully and a savior, a monster and a lover.
Ten years ago, he made me run away from the small town where we lived. Now, he came for me in New York, and he isn’t leaving until he takes me with him.

Vicious

She is a starving artist.
Pretty and evasive like cherry blossom.
Ten years ago, she barged into my life unannounced and turned everything upside down.
She paid the price.
Emilia LeBlanc is completely off-limits, my best friend’s ex-girlfriend. The woman who knows my darkest secret, and the daughter of the cheap Help we hired to take care of our estate.
That should deter me from chasing her, but it doesn’t.
So she hates me. Big fucking deal.
She better get used to me.

This is my most recent read and, yes, I have only read 5 books, but it is my favourite out of those. Vicious is an asshole but I loved him so much. I gave this book 5 stars (and will have a review out soon) and couldn’t flaw it whatsoever. This for a while (if not all) goes between them at 18 and at 28 so this book does stretch a little further into an older age. But, it’s my favourite on this list. Vicious is definitely a new addition to my list (even if he is completely messed up).

So, they’re all my NA recommendations! Have you read any of these? Thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

yeah

 

 

Leave a Reply

