My Dream Author Panel

dreamauthorpanel.jpg

Today I thought I’d share with you my dream author panel because Eventbrite (the largest self service ticketing platform that helps people find and plan events and conferences) is currently running a little project where bloggers share their dream author panel. For this, I decided to write this under three different categories. Those categories are: Young Adult Authors, New Adult Authors and Authors I Want to Thank. And, even though this is impossible: book boyfriends.

YOUNG ADULT AUTHORS:

  • Renee Adhieh
  • Annabel Pitcher
  • Jenny Han
  • C.C. Hunter
  • Keira Cass

I would choose all of these authors simply because I’ve read and loved books by all of them and I would really like to meet them also!

NEW ADULT AUTHORS:

  • Caisey Quinn
  • Colleen Hoover
  • Elle Kennedy
  • Abbi Glines

Caisey Quinn, Elle Kennedy and Abbi Glines were chosen because I really love their books (Elle Kennedy I’ve only read one book from but I loved it SO MUCH). Colleen Hoover: really, I’d just like to know where she gets all of her crazy, plot twist ideas from!

Authors I’m Thankful For:

Cathy Cassidy: Cathy Cassidy- I did actually meet when I was younger- was one of the authors who got me into reading. Granted, her books are middle-grade/young teen, but I loved them. I read almost all of them. Short anecdote: When her series The Chocolate Box Girls came out, I pre-planned my reading for all of them. So, I knew there was going to be one book in the series each year. And, my favourite sister, the oldest- Honey, would have her book out last (which was when I turned like thirteen or something and in secondary school.) I planned to buy the books- even though I was too old for them- just for the sake of finishing the series. I never did read any more of them.

Meg Cabot and Ally Carter: It was during the same time that I read these author’s books. They were the only books I would read at the time. I love both authors books so much yet they were so different. But, they introduced me to the world of young adult fiction. For, that, I will always be grateful (even though they have no idea).

Abbi Glines and Tara Brown. These two authors got me into the world of new adult! Both accidentally. I read the Existence trilogy by Abbi Glines- which is young adult- and really wanted to read more of her books so I picked up The Vincent Boys. OH MY GOD. Horror story: I didn’t know the difference between young and new adult. I didn’t even know these categories existed. And I was about thirteen years old maybe when I read this book. Scarred for life. Tara Brown was another NA author I stumbled upon. (I think even after reading The Vincent Boys. I bought the book accidentally and at this point, my kindle was connected to my mom’s credit card and I knew if I cancelled it’d be refunded and I didn’t want that because I didn’t want her to I’d bought it. Then, I felt really bad for wasting her money on it so I decided to read it. Scarred for life x2. This one I think was even worse (sex wise, I mean). But, I now like NA so I guess it’s okay. Sorta. Not really.

BOOK BOYFRIENDS:

My last category is dedicated to my book boyfriends. Those of whom sadly one exist between the pages. But, if they do so happen to wake up one day and talk to me (like in Off the Page by Jodi Picoult) I will welcome them with open arms (after I’ve finished screaming).

The boys on my panel would be:

  • Tariq from A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hoseinni. (I have mentioned reasons before as to why, (you can sort of not really see here), but basically, I just love him. If, you don’t know why, here’s a reason:

 “I wrote you. Volumes.”

  • Jesse from Lost and Found by Nicole Williams. (Also previously mentioned.) He’s a cowboy in the first book I’ve ever read about a cowboy. He was really sweet and polite and I just really liked him.
  • Warner from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. This, I’m not even going to explain. You either love him or hate him, I obviously loved him.
  • Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Adhieh. I’m not sure whether I should include him or not, hence the reason he’s scratched out. He’s kind of a monster but he’s such a sweet talker that I couldn’t not fall in love with him.
  • Colin from Three Years Later by Casey McMillian. I think Colin was my first ever book boyfriend (even though he was not officially titled that yet because I hadn’t heard of the word) so he will always be on this list. I loved the fact that, even after three years (the premise of the book is that they meet, get lost, re-meet basically) he’s still completely ready to commit to her. (This book definitely needs a re-read.)

So, they’re my dream panels! Obviously, my most dream like is the second last one. But, ya know, girl can dream, right?

Thanks for reading!

 

yeah

One thought on “My Dream Author Panel

Leave a Reply

